Katrina music

in #music6 years ago

Steemit Open Mic Week #117: Original Music — I Am Alive
katrina-ariel (62) in openmic • 4 days ago
guitar
This song is a little haunting and a lot soulful. It’s something like a question and an answer rolled into one.

It’s brand new—I wrote it on Christmas and did what felt like 300 takes that night trying to get a performance I was happy with for Open Mic. This one I actually did the next morning, so the song was still not yet 24 hours old.

That seems to be how I roll.

I may have tossed a cartoon filter on the video to soften things, which I think goes with the dreamlike quality of the music. Hope you enjoy it.

line
I Am Alive
I don’t know how to do this, but I’m doin’ my best
Trippin’ down this twisted road, heart pounding in my chest
Gotta walk with integrity, with honesty…
Balance responsibility with a need to be wildly free

There’s magic surrounding me, living inside of me
Along with uncertainty deep as the sea
Vast as the sky, I spread my soul wide
Don’ know where it ends, but I’ll try, I’ll dive
I am alive

I don’t know what to do with these thoughts in my mind
In a whirlwind I find what’s mine
Never gone here before, new meaning to explore
Exploding inside I’m more and more alive

There’s magic surrounding me, living inside of me
Along with uncertainty deep as the sea
Vast as the sky, I spread my soul wide
Don’ know where it ends, but I’ll try, I’ll dive
I am alive

That’s why we choose the high road, the hard road,
The dark road, the warned against road
The places that force us to feel
To be real, to deal with who we are

There’s magic surrounding me, living inside of me
Along with uncertainty deep as the sea
Vast as the sky, I spread my soul wide
Don’ know where it ends, but I’ll try, I’ll dive
I am alive

Original songwriting by Katrina Ariel

line
Thanks for listening!

You can also find my music on Choon, or just check out my last few posts, as they’re almost entirely music these days.

That’s okay by me.

I hope you’re having a wonderful holiday season, whatever you celebrate. I’m kinda relieved Christmas is over. Time to dance our way into a new year.

Whatever happens, keep singing your song!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel
Photos mine unless otherwise credited.

Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steem.

dragon
dragon art: Liiga Smilshkalne

alliance banner

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61825.46
ETH 2454.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60