You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Quit The Music Industry

in #music6 years ago

When I was 17 I made an electronica / trip hop full length album with a friend of mine who I had been in a rock band with (mainly covers) since 15. I was lucky to be supported by our families and to get some pirate music software from my uncle and we spent 13 months exploring and creating this work. We self published at relatively large cost to our young selves, and put in a few local record shops (which still existed in 2005, just barely), and got a nice review in the local paper.

But I fell into the same trap, albeit briefly. I sent a copy of the CD to about 50 publishers, all over the world. I didn't even get one reply. At that time I suppose getting a random CD meant it went straight in the bin, but we had high hopes. I was disappointed.

It turns out this was the best thing to happen to us. I went on to get in with a punk crowd where I adopted the DIY attitude (the real attitude, not just until you get signed) and eventually the Irish community banded together with others around Europe and we self published and self financed things. I created music like this in the punk, doom metal, electronica and post-rock genres until a few years ago when I started having kids and took a break.

I consider it a success to have been involved with the musicians and communities I've been involved with. Every now and then I'd meet someone who turned out to be a fan, I grew to accept that was to be the limit of my reach.

I don't know what to think about music consumption today. I'm pretty excited by the rise in indie jazz and hip-hop in the last few years in terms of mainstream-ish music, but who knows how this stuff gets made. All I know is that keeping things real and local was rewarding and I'm glad we didn't get picked up as teens.

By the way, you lay out your criticism but what is your actual approach going to be now?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60578.94
ETH 2625.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54