You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Chord that Stunned the World

in #music4 years ago

Also known as a G# half-diminished 7th chord

Excuse me if I make a stupid mistake there, but isn't this just a minor 7 chord? At least in German a "Halbverminderter" (pretty much directly translates to half-diminished) would be G# B D F and not G# B D# F.

I'm not entirely sure and probably there's a small mistake in my thinking. I'd be glad if you corrected me.
Greetings

Sort:  

Not exactly. It seems I voiced it inconsistently, though.

A G# minor 7th in this example would be G#, B, D#, F# - but since the F is natural, it doesn't fit in this definition. It would be an altered minor 7th (up to you how you name it depending on voicing)

You could call it some kind of G#6 chord; Ab min 6 would be A♭ C♭ E♭ F, which is enharmonically equivalent.

The actual error here is calling it G#, as opposed to F. I'm not sure why I made that error is given that the precise voicing is clearly written (in my own picture I created, no less!) as F, B, D#, G# - a half-diminished 7.

I suspect its because I was reading about the many interpretations of the chord by scholars, each of which make decisions based on which of the four notes is the root. I read some simply argued the G# was a very slow passing tone, rather than part of the chord and... well, it goes on.

The point is, the chord is interesting! I'll make an edit with this in mind either way, cheers!

Thanks for your answer!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64203.15
ETH 3065.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93