Music Monday Ep. 7 [The Isolation Of Bottled Up Burdens]

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Hey, it's me.
image.png
So...
I've been carrying a burden.
All to myself.
There are a few that know, but it is my burden to carry.

I've buried it 6 feet under, in hopes that the memories would die there where I left it.
But much like a forgotten casserole, it is festering in my favorite tupperware.
My ONLY tupperware.

One of these days, I'm going to have to open it back up only to find that it has not just vanished.
What once could have been deftly disposed of, has now evolved into an entirely new species of abhorrent rot that will taint my tupperware forever.

I'm talking about therapy.
GET THERAPY.
Talk to someone.

You do not have to bare this burden alone.
There are other people out there that have shared some of your experiences.
Everyone you meet has suffered in some way or another, but not for naught.
By sharing our darkest moments with each other, we can ease the isolation of that darkness.

When you survive a traumatic event, your life as you knew it should not end there. You survived for a reason.
To grow closer to the other humans you are forced to share this earth with.
To realize your oneness with the world at large.

You've been given insight into another's suffering.
The tools to help them through it.
The compassion you may have previously lacked.

HODLing this burden, with no outlet of catharsis, I have found myself disassociating with "reality".
I am ripped in half, split between two worlds, vacillating between mine and theirs, and now I am tired.
Maybe it's about time I asked for some help.

Every Monday I will be serving up a fresh batch of music to broaden your universe, and if you like what you hear, you should upvote, resteem, follow me, and/or leave a comment with some of your favorite music, and/or your own opinions on the matter at hand, so that together we can reach the rest of the universe. Or not. The choice is always yours.

[I do not own these videos, but it is my civic duty to share them]

Sort:  

..follow..up..re...p.j.harvey....

I love her <3

Nice music tastes!
Do you ever Trevor Something?

So beautiful!!!!!!! I'll be following.
-Godbless & Godspeed

Thank you ^.^ I'll be following you too!

Quote taken from: Asking For Help Reveals Strength, Not Weakness

I share this simple story because so many people are reticent about asking for help, and because I think most of us should ask for more help more often. As with so many things that would serve us (and others), our fear is what gets in the way. Fear of over-stepping a friendship. Fear of appearing too needy. Fear of imposing. Fear of revealing our struggle and having people realize we don’t have it all together after all. But here’s the thing:

When you don’t ask for help when you need it, you assume all of a burden that might easily (and gladly) be shared. But you also deprive those who’d love to assist you of the opportunity to do so.

Everyone is worse off.

continued here...


Help - The Beatles

Thank you @guyincawgnito :) It's something I still have to remind myself from time to time. That good people take joy in helping others. And to deny them that opportunity is to deny them that joy. It's the overstepping that I'm afraid of. I've noticed that some people are made very uncomfortable by dark or sensitive subjects. It shatters their perception of reality, and brings them to a place they feel entitled not to have to go to. But I will be there even for those people when life hurls them into that dark place.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by FlaccidFervor from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 25% upvote from spotlight thanks to: @resteemable.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Resteem to 850+ Follower . Send 0.200 SBD or 0,300 STEEM to @music-curation ( URL as memo )

Transfer 0.500 SBD or 0.750 steem to @mrbean1 and put the link of your post in the public memo I GIVE you FOLLOW AND 10 UPVOT and resteem by @mrbean1

click here to read more  about me
 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.70
ETH 3158.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43