Music Monday Ep. 6 [Weird French Music Videos And A Little Lesson In Empathy]

in #music7 years ago

Kehlyn here, a warm and steemy welcome to my fellow Steemians!

image.png

Say, have you ever worked in the service industry?
Ever been in a relationship?
Ever been been stuck in a situation where your hopes and needs and fears and internal struggles and intentions have to try to coexist with the hopes and needs and fears and internal struggles and intentions of people who are not you?

It's hard I know.
You can't possibly know what a person is thinking or going through.
You can only assume.

So do you assume the worst?
Do you assume that you are not only the center of your own universe, but that the other people around you are also living in the same universe, of which you are the center, and that every thoughtless thing that someone does is in fact an intentional attack on you, or a blatant disregard for all the wonderful things your universe has to offer?

When I speak of universes, I really do mean that they are living in a completely different one, or rather a different plane, even though we all reside on the same planet. Believe me, they know things that you don't, and have experienced pain that you could never conceive.

Every aspect of their life, down to their genetic predispositions are vastly different.
This is why I find people so intriguing. I want to discover and study all these aspects.

I would like to formally announce that at this very moment I hit 300 followers! 🎉 I appreciate you guys ^.^

Sometimes we all need a little reminder, myself included, that we are not the only ones struggling.
What may not even be a struggle for us may take all the coping mechanisms for another person to deal with. We all have different thresholds for pain. We all have different triggers.
When someone asks me about my family or childhood, it triggers PTSD, but when I ask another person about their family, it is considered thoughtful.

When you judge someone for their lack of education, their weakness to substance abuse, their financial instability, their standoffish demeanor, their unhealthy lifestyle, their tendency to complain, their lack of motivation or direction or life, their inability to perform simple tasks, their totally illogical anxieties, or just the fact that they are different than you, you are assuming that they have been dealt the same hand of cards as you, when in reality they are working with a completely different deck.
If anyone is familiar with Magic The Gathering, you know exactly what I'm talking about ;) ( @tarotbyfergus, @kommienezuspadt, @treigh-c, @vermillionfox, @iamredbar, @jthiessen )

I'm just going to end this here, before I ramble on for a thousand words, with my fav MTG card! I don't feel like sifting through my thousands of cards, so I'll just steal this image from the internet.
image.png
[source: https://www.amazon.com/Magic-Gathering-Amoeboid-Changeling-Premium/dp/B005S5DFY0 (But don't buy it from here. Not at that price. It was just the best image)]

Every Monday I will be serving up a fresh batch of music to broaden your universe, and if you like what you hear, you should upvote, resteem, follow me, and/or leave a comment with some of your favorite music, and/or your own opinions on the matter at hand, so that together we can reach the rest of the universe. Or not. The choice is always yours.

[I do not own these videos, but it is my civic duty to share them]

Sort:  

Beautiful post K. Keep um coming.

Keep me alive with all your secret health voodoo, and they certainly will ;)

You are too adorable and it is distracting me from your writing: please stop.

But this head worked hard to make thoughts, and these hands tirelessly typed them into words! Oh but don't let the words distract you from the music either!

Why do I have a feeling that you're a poet? :3

Perhaps because Metaphorish is my first language?

This post has received a 20% upvote from spotlight thanks to: @resteemable.

This is interesting. Too bad I don't know any french :/

That's why I provided videos this time. Even if they provide no actual context :P

he 5th video is so cool!
I'm glad you did a selfie. Seeing your face makes my day better. For real.

Dawwww, well talking to your face always makes mine better.

Congrats, flaccidfervor! This post has been resteemed to all my followers for Free. Keep on the hard work on Steemit! Please also checkout @growingpower for comment upvote service ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64166.71
ETH 2765.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72