Recent vinyl purchases: Star Wars, The Beatles, and more!

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone, 

In my spare time, I enjoy collecting and listening to albums on vinyl. I love going into antique malls or thrift stores and finding a section dedicated to albums that may have not been played in years, but sound incredible. I enjoy a variety of styles of music, but I most enjoy collecting big band jazz, easy listening (Frank Sinatra, Nat King Cole, etc.), and various classic rock and pop albums. I especially enjoy collecting albums by the band Chicago. I currently have their first 11 studio albums on vinyl, plus about five more, so my collection is continuously growing. 

I recently picked up a few albums that I thought I'd share with the Steemit community, so here they are!

1. The Empire Strikes Back Original Soundtrack

I'm a big Star Wars fan, so when I happened upon this album at an antiques mall, I decided it was worth my money. It's in great shape, both the cover and the albums themselves, and there's a booklet inside with scenes from the movie. It's a neat release, and I must say there's nothing quite like listening to the Imperial March on a record player. 

2. "Songs in the Key of Life" -Stevie Wonder

As a bass player, I absolutely love Motown releases, so I grab them any chance I can (especially if it's an album I know James Jamerson recorded on). Stevie Wonder is no exception. He's made many incredible contributions to R&B music over the years, especially this album. Released in 1976, it's Stevie's 18th studio album, and according to Wikipedia, it's the most critically acclaimed album of his career. I figured it was worth having in my collection, and it sounds great too. The cover has some wear and some stains, but the vinyl is in good shape. I'll definitely be hanging on to this one. 

3. "Voices" -Daryl Hall & John Oates

Forget that they're one of the best duos of all time, I just really like their music. I've been a big fan of Hall & Oates for a while, so when I saw this album, I grabbed it right up. It has some of their biggest hits on it including "Kiss on My List," "You've Lost That Lovin' Feeling," "You Make My Dreams," and one of my personal favorites, "Every Time You Go Away." I could listen to this album over and over again. I highly recommend picking it up if you're a fan of Hall & Oates. I'll be looking to get more of their albums in the future. 

4. "Revolver" -The Beatles

I have a lot of favorite Beatles songs. In fact, probably my favorite albums to listen to are the two compilation albums "1962-1966" and "1967-1970," both of which I own on vinyl, however I grabbed this copy of Revolver (which is in very good condition) because it has one of my favorite Beatles tunes that didn't make it on either of the compilations, "Got to Get You Into My Life." It's such a catchy tune that I've enjoyed listening to on the record player since I bought this album. The album also has a few other recognizable Beatles tunes like "Taxman," "Eleanor Rigby," and "Yellow Submarine," so pick it up if you enjoy any of these songs!

5. "Up to Date" -The Partridge Family

I don't really know if I can explain why I like the Partridge Family so much. I've been called crazy by a lot of people. I've actually never even seen the show, so I need to make that happen sometime, but I absolutely love their music. This is probably my favorite of their albums. "Up to Date" opens with "I'll Meet You Halfway," which is just a fun song. All of the songs are fun. Some of my other favorites include the big hit, "Doesn't Somebody Want to be Wanted," (which apparently David Cassidy almost refused to record) and "You Are Always on My Mind." I really enjoy the instrumentation of the album recording, especially their use of strings and piano. Call me crazy, but I would say this is one of my top 10 albums I own on vinyl. 

I hope you've enjoyed checking out my latest purchases, and if you want to hear any of the songs, or feel like owning them yourself, just follow the links below each album. There's a really neat vinyl marketplace website called Discogs, where you can order almost any album on vinyl that you can imagine. Give them a listen, and I'd love to hear what you think, or let me know what some of your favorite albums are, whether you own them on vinyl or not! 

All images are my own captured with my Google Pixel. 

Sort:  

Congratulations @ethandsmith! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @ethandsmith! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66785.43
ETH 3494.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83