Using STEEM for Music Collaboration

in #music7 years ago (edited)

What more can we do in Steemit. Being part of the community I have become more relaxed and collaborative. I have been getting more active in the community. Also have taken part in some competitions such as STEEMIT OPENMIC Contest hosted by @luzcypher. I had a thought of how we could collaborate and make music as the interconnected world is now a lot closer now. Brief little history of myself

History

  1. Started to DJ at the age of fifteen
    a. Started putting together premixed CDs and recording music.

  2. Started a music group at sixteen
    a. Made it on the local radio as the number one song for one week.
    b. I continued for three rap mixtapes.
    c. Worked with some artists that were popular in the bay area movement.

  3. I went to college and kept it as a way to make others happy
    a. Made music with Basketball Star Paul George
    b. Kept it open to anyone wanting to make music

  4. Post College I joined the military and started to sing at 25

  5. Joined Steemit and Life is better

Plans

What I plan to do is see how we could join together and collaborate with music in this close nit family. If we could do it with something like this then imagine the possibilities. A Steemit music producer contacted me last week about a collaboration. This led to exploring the option of what can we create together. We are geographically dispersed so how could we attract a wider audience. Could it be by including other parts of the world in our music. What could we bring to each other, could it be a different style, way of thinking, idea, skill, culture, or simply make something we do better.

I have written some lyrics that I will sing in my next post. Lets see how we could utilize Steemit in making this collaboration. My music is fairly emotional and usually acoustics are some of my favorite backings.

Let me know what tools we could utilize for this. Currently my plan is to use Google Drive or Dropbox for the raw files.
Steemit-engine (1).png

Sort:  

Hey, I like where you're going with this. I'm brand new to steemit. Getting on here and seeing this, as one of the first post I've read, made me feel right at home.

I'm a musician, as well. I'm also a photographer, web/graphics designer, roady (lol), sound guy and manager, for my best friend, Zaj. I'm really looking forward to getting more familiar with this platform and can't wait to see what comes of it.

Welcome to Steemit and thank you for your words. Glad it makes you feel like home. Those are some great skills and take a look into https://utopian.io/ which uses same signon as steem. Definitely stay tuned for more to come and we will make this work.

This is a great Idea! Possibly by utilizing gdrive to share the folder. A beat track and a vocal track recording should be all you need. If this works should be great to see what else could be done.

That's exactly what I had in mind.

How's it going? I've also been toying around with this idea for some time. Im a music producer specializing in hip hop, pop, dancehall and afrobeats. I live for emotional melodies that evoke something. I figured Gdrive is probably your best bet when it comes to handling raw files. It would allow someone to collab with another person of a different genre, thousands of km away.

Sweet, I just seen the beat you made out of a printer. Definitely let's see what opening up some downloads of beats and vocals to collaborate some music. If it works we can keep doing it and even get others too. This is awesome

I'm keen to get involved. How do we begin?

I just put a song up on dsound. I want to see if it could be done using all decentralized and preferably on the steemit blockchain. If you have any beats you can put them there too if not you are free to take my vocals and do something. If i hear your beats i can make something to your style. https://dsound.audio/#/@engineeringsteem/acapella-maybe-just-maybe-by-engineeringsteem

Perfect. I'll check it out and contribute

You got a 3.17% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @engineeringsteem! Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

I wish you success. I followed you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.38
ETH 2645.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76