Recording Setup - Steem FundedsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #music7 years ago (edited)


Why not make yourself a microphone stand out of a cardboard box?

My recording setup

I've had a few positive comments relating to the sound quality on my open mic entries and other music posts so I thought I'd share what I use to get the job done!

Condenser microphone


Nothing beats a condenser microphone for clarity in my opinion. They're usually capable of capturing sounds between 20-20khz on the frequency spectrum and can pick up an incredible amount of detail.

I picked up the SE Electronics X1 after having positive experiences in the past with their other microphones. After listening to a number of different 'mic shootouts' between other microphones in the same price range.

To my ear, it was the most natural sounding microphone of its type in the <£100 bracket.

Audio interface


It's great having a nice microphone but it's a little useless if you can't get the sound out!

I found an interface that claimed to be compatible with the iPhone so that I could use it with the built in camera. It works, sort of - it's a little bit & miss.

I use a Presonus iOne audio interface, I managed to pick one up on eBay for £40.

Although I was disappointed with the temperamental iPhone functionality it still works great when plugged into my computer, so I record into Logic & sync up the audio with the video manually.

Microphone stand

After making my order, I realised that I forgot to add a microphone stand and wanted to just get on with recording. I made it out of the box the mic came in & works pretty well!

Steem funded

This setup is entirely Steem funded (or will be - I used PayPal credit and am working towards paying it off with my post payouts)

Consider it an alternative means of investing - I only use it to produce content for Steemit & it seems to have helped me increase my post rewards so far.

In a way, I guess you can use Paypal to buy Steem.

Thanks for checking out my post.

(Image 2&3 courtesy of SE Electronics & Presonus respectively)

Sort:  

great post...!!
keep it up

Cool stuff man. I have very similar gear.

Hey @kevrowe that's cool, what kind of stuff do you use it to record?

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by elliotjgardner from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Amazing posting

This post has received a 6.92 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @elliotjgardner.

Excellent info! Does that interface have more than one input for an instrument?

Hey @val.halla, there is indeed! You get 1 mic input & 1 instrument input (1/4 inch jack) I haven't really used it so far though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61757.83
ETH 2905.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62