Went to Nashville a singer and came back a DJ

in #music8 years ago (edited)

"Leaving Oklahoma"

https://soundcloud.com/leetaylormusic/leaving-oklahoma-1

I wrote this song back when I was moving out to Nashville to try my shot at fame..

The one thing I learned about the music business right away was that everyone else had the same idea as i did. To me I really wanted to know what it was like to actually go out and try, but after really getting into the scene I started to realize that this was not a send your demo and get famous kind of business.

After not hearing a word from anyone I sent my demos to I started to try a different approach playing coffee shops and small venues, but realized that out there EVERYONE plays for free. 

This time I changed my approach

I realized that the only way I was going to move forward with a music career was to get a following.. People that would support me, because THAT is what the music industry really wants. They want to sign you and grow your following, but they need a little proof that you can get people to believe in you.

This was a tough one for me, because I wasn't playing at any place that I could get a good following. So I did some research on the music business, and learned a lot more than I expected I would.

I realized that to play venues that you want you it's better to rent them yourself, and that way you can charge your own ticket prices and market your event yourself!

This is where I entered the EDM world!

As my wife and I went out on the weekends to check out venues and the scenes we were interested in we started to listen to some DJ's and electronic music. This was when I first heard of Dubstep :D

It was the most badass sound I had ever heard and it was NEW. 

This was back around 2009, and I started listening to people like Skrillex and Datsik.. Now I had never had experience producing any electronic music, and didn't even know what programs to use. So I got on youtube and started watching tutorials.

Fast forward 3 years..

After putting producing to the side I found a better high in DJ'ing other artists music and really enjoyed how badass these new dubstep tracks were that had been coming out, but found that the dubstep scene was maybe too much and did not inspire me much anymore..

And it wasn't until I was invited to a psytrance festival by @elliotmiscreants and heard how sick these ground shaking bass beats were, that I realized THIS was music that inspired me and I could connect with on more of a spiritual non-egotistical level!

I got home and with my 3 years of production knowledge and some software capable of creating what I wanted to I started learning how to make psytrance :D

Fast forward to now

Another 4 years later I still love psytrance just as much as I did when I first heard it.. The fundamentals of psytrance basslines were the same that shamens used to enter their trances, and literally can raise your consciousness to whole new levels!

In between these years my wife and I had 3 kids which caused some bumps a long the way, but since then we have focused on creating electronic music events, but I am still very focused on creating psytrance music as well that I hope to someday be album worthy!



Sort:  

Tales time but with your perseverance. I am sure it is a short matter of time to take off

Heck yeah thanks @clevecross
:D

Good luck I hope you succeed with your new passion!

Thanks!
I appreciate the support :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87