Youtubers that do some awesome drum/percussion covers... cruising through some cover tunes

in #music7 years ago (edited)

steemit.jpg
Occasionally I enjoy watching some people covering some songs on youtube. Some of them are simply fun. I am on such a journey tonight and I thought I might take some of you along on the journey with me.

First I stumbled upon Nea Batera as she does a cover of Slayer's South of Heaven. I've always liked this song. In fact I've been known to play this one quite a bit on my guitar. It isn't their fastest or most complex, but it sure does have a lot of catchy parts and the arrangement is very tasteful.


I've always thought the work Dave Lombardo did on the early Slayer albums was masterful. Sometimes it really helps to just be able to watch a drummer go to town on a song instead of having the camera fly around to all of the other locations.

Then looking to the side I notice what looks like a young girl (or just small woman) going by the handle sina-drums and she is doing a Master of Puppets cover. Watching her I don't think she is quite at that Nea Batera level above, but she also appears younger. Lars Ulrich is also typically not nearly as complex as Dave Lombardo. There are a few interesting songs like Harvester of Sorrow where the drums are pretty different, but it isn't going to typically be as crazy as a Dave Lombardo piece.

So having enjoyed that South of Heaven rendition by Nea Batera I decided to see what else she might have covered. This Lamb of God song Still Echoes was pretty fun to watch.

Then I was looking for another person I know but stumbled across a 6 year old boy covering Guns N' Roses Welcome To The Jungle and I think most of us enjoy watching young kids that age tear it up. So here you have *Avery Drummer Molek.

Then thinking of Dave Lombardo from Slayer I started looking to see if anyone had done a cover of War Ensemble which I knew had some very fast rolls on it. I happened to come across a Drums only track of Dave performing it...

Then I found a youtuber WORMED3 who did a cover you can watch of JUST the drum parts...


Do your legs start cramping while you listen to that and imagine playing some of those double bass parts?

Then I got distracted by something totally different from 2010... ***Dave Lombardo Guitar Center Drum Off 2010 PT 1 ***
Which was surprising and not what I expected.

Well remember that 6 year old I ran across before. I happened to see him doing a Dream Theater cover for the song Panic Attack when he was 8. I thought... "No way!" So here is another Avery Drummer Molek

He hasn't stopped either here is him now age 10 doing a Cover of the new Metallica song Moth Into Flames.

It looks like he might have gone on to do a cover of all the latest Metallica songs, so you might take a peek at his channel if you want more of that fare.

I still haven't found the young drummer that I started watching covers of this summer... Let's see what I can find...

And then I stumble upon sina-drummer who now I know is 14 in this video as she does one of my favorite Dream Theater songs Metropolis Pt. 1.... so you know I had to watch that...

The drummer in this video by Banda BURN is who I was looking for... I saw this particular cover last summer and did a steemit post about it. It is an entire young band doing a cover of Dream Theater's Pull Me Under and the female vocals actually go nicely with it.

So that young guy goes by the youtube handle Vincenzo Drummer and his channel is full of gold.

Slayer started out this post so let's get some Vincenzo Drummer doing some Raining Blood action. :) Age 12.

And then this Vincenzo Drummer video that has a message while also being a Vincenzo cover. Iron Maiden's If Eternity Should Fail.

Thanks for sharing one of my fairly frequent random musical youtube journeys... hopefully some of you enjoyed it like I did.

EDIT: Bonus - Metal heads write a pop song...


Steem On!




Sort:  

Enjoyed these but the particular bonus was of course the metalheads writing a pop song. Most entertaining!

The funny thing is that the song they wrote is good enough that if a current pop star were singing it, it likely would be a hit. Maroon 5 or some act like that could likely pull it off nicely.

I agree, they definitely could. In fact they should, it's rather catchy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54554.44
ETH 2294.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31