You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Memorial Day Dissent

in #music7 years ago

Larken Rose wrote something similar @larkenrose. I gave a reply there. I see some of what you are getting at completely. Yet I also think there is a false dichotomy in play that we either support them or we don't. I believe there are some other choices.

Sort:  

I'm not sure. I don't deny that many, if not most, who joined the military had honorable intentions. But their intentions were based on deeply flawed reasoning and blind faith in the State. Their actions, regardless of intent, inflict great evil. And they were paid and equipped entirely with stolen property for the purpose of furthering the State. Only by pointing this out can we hope to reduce such senseless bloodshed in the future. Now, they are martyrs for the cause of evil, covered in a veneer of false virtue.

This is true.

Yet because they are indoctrinated and blind that can also be a case where they had not really been equipped with the mental tools by which they could use freewill to realize they are doing wrong.

In fact, they likely have zero clue what they are doing is wrong.

I cannot despise them for this. I despise those who indoctrinate them, and manipulate them.

I am NOT happy about them, but I do not despise them.

I do not see masses of people willfully doing what they do if they have the mental tools that you and I have discovered over time.

I am certain there was a time where you did not see these things clearly as well. I know there was for me. I feel like things get clearer over time with regards to these things. It feels like scales being pulled back from my eyes, or my eyeglass prescription continually getting better.

So if this is true for me, why would I not believe it is the same for them?

If they were fully formed and new what it was they were doing and truly understood the implications then all the vitriol thrown at them I'd fully understand and agree with.

I consider most of them completely ignorant to the true rammifications of what they do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67477.32
ETH 3474.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69