ALBUM REVIEW // The Language Of My World-- Macklemore

in #music7 years ago

The Language Of My World is the first official underground release from Seattle rapper Macklemore. It was released on January 1, 2005. Some say that this was Macklemore's best album out of his entire collection while some have never even heard it before. Personally, this is my favorite Macklemore album, without a doubt. Something about this album just spoke to me in a way that his new projects have yet to duplicate. It had so much soul. I give this album a 5/5. Once I got my hands on a copy, I could not stop listening to it.

Track Listing:

  1. Intro
  2. White Privelage
  3. B-Boy
  4. Claiming The City (featuring Abyssinian Creole)
  5. Fake ID
  6. Hold Your Head Up (featuring Xperience)
  7. Ego
  8. Inhale Deep
  9. Bush Song
  10. Good For You (featuring Xperience)
  11. I Said Hey
  12. Penis Song
  13. The Magic
  14. City Don't Sleep (featruring Paul Rivers Bailey)
  15. Love Song (featuring Evan Roman)
  16. Remember High School
  17. Contradiction (Evan Roman)
  18. Soldiers
  19. As Soon As I Wake Up (featuring Xperience)
  20. My Language

Songs That Stand Out:

#6 Hold Your Head Up
Featuring Xperience
Produced by Macklemore
This is one of those inspirational type songs. The song you listen to when you're not having too good of a day. This shit might make you feel a little better, or even help you focus on exactly why you should keep on going. Nice and chill song, with a comforting chorus.

#9 Bush Song
Produced by Macklemore
Political type song. It's a song where Macklemore is rapping from the parody perspective of George W. Bush, one of the least popular presidents from not so long ago. He really mocks Bush in this one and touches on exactly why Bush should never had been president in the first place. It's pretty humorous.

#11 I Said Hey
Produced by Budo
This is that straight Hip Hop song. If you love Hip Hop and how far its come. Macklemore really explains what influenced him and exactly why he loves being a part of this Hip Hop culture. It's much much more than just music. And I think he captures that concept here very well. This song makes me love Hip Hop.

#14 City Don't Sleep
Featuring Don P
Produced by Sekken Thaughtz
Seattle, the city that Macklemore comes from, has a pretty bad homeless problem. All around the city there are many homeless people of all ages, living all over town from sleeping under bridges to hiding out in alley ways. Macklemore decided to make a song payin homage to the homeless here in Seattle, and how tough and real it can get out here for some. Definitely one of my favorites from the album.

Sort:  

Nice post. Followed you. Please follow me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62579.42
ETH 3010.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.42