How can music be so powerful?

in #music7 years ago

Screen Shot 2017-08-27 at 11.06.58 am 2.png

Music can take me to places nothing else can. How is that? How is it even possible?

Music can be my muse - put the right music on and I am at my most creative.

Music can be my focus and my drive - put the right music on (and headphones) and I can smash through any amount of work.

Music can be my friend - put the right music on and I am dancing in my happy place, or I am not lonely anymore (though I may still be sad).

And playing the music I wrote, in my band (that's me in the pic)? OMGods so good.

How can it have such power?

It's a question worth pondering.

And a secondary question is: how can some people be so oblivious to its effects?

And a further question is what does this say about the subjective nature of music appreciation? One person can be profoundly impacted by the delicacy and beauty of a passing musical phrase. Another may not even notice it, or worse, just consider it to be noise.

And to show just how complicated all this is, some music lovers can be its biggest detractors: think rap, opera, metal, punk, rock, country, folk. Each has its own fans, but it is a rare individual indeed who really appreciates each genre.

I suspect many thesis could be written on the subject(s).

Thoughts welcome.

〰➰〰

Image courtesy of @drwom

drwom-01.png

DQmampd9mQbBZuWMnd1uSm37WSjquEWDcwKGZjz15dpivgQ.png

@drwom footer by the awesome @ryivhnn !!

Sort:  

Music is life! I can sit and listen to music all day. It relaxes me and evens improves my mood.

Aww yes, the powers and emotions driven by Music and how it impacts us on several levels. To call Music Life might be closer to a misnomer, maybe we should consider it more like the driving power of life - possibly Prana - and in that power, our souls relish with the divine potpourri that stirs us within.....

Music is life. Music is love. Music is everything !!!!

wow a fantastic music :)
i liked..........thanks for sharing

I'm no musician, nor am I into the music scene, however when I need it I do resort to a few good ol' songs that get my mood heading into the right direction and start thinking good things and happy thoughts.

Might not be everyones choice of a song that they enjoy, but the words to this song for example always get me rising up out off the dumps!

Music is more powerful than any therapy out there!

Thanks for a cool read dude. Really got me back into the mood after listening to this song!

Permit me to add that music(with headphones) slows down ur whole environment and makes u feel like you're on top of the world!

Music is just another version of reality.... where I get to sink into the flows

I pay attention to the frequencies and lyrics and if my heart response in a favorable manner I listen to it, if not I rather sing to myself.

Music is a pain reliever.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58309.71
ETH 2617.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42