You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Recording and Audiostuff #1 - Happy new year to all of you!

in #music7 years ago

Great great well broken down introductory studio post. I've been running a studio in athens, ga for about ten years (in my present buildout at least) and every lick of this is critical learning. I'd also throw in a quick nod to the DIYRE community (which feels steemit-y to me) ... as anybody with even rudimentary soldering skills can get huge returns on small investments in gear .... retrofitting cheap chinese mics and building API 500 series mic pre clones come to mind as incredibly cost effective ways to get gear that hangs with or exceeds whats available at your local guitar center if you have the chops and patience. Was a revelation for me, and the path it led me down has landed me with cloned 1176s, LA2As and Pultecs that I will absolutely shoot out with the real thing any day.

Looking forward to posting some of my own studio content, but judging how long it took for me to finish my first video (a modular synth and drum video even)... I'd better get a more practical workflow asap. Hoping you feel like your first steps at studio related material is going over well. Would be great to get like minded studio folk together on here!! I'm already consuming a preposterous amount of it on youtube, may as well compensate people on my new most favorite ever platform.

Sort:  

Hey @drumoperator!! Thanks for kind words!!
I don't know the DIYRE community (is it a specific site?), but it sounds really interesting, I'm gonna be investigating that now hahaha.

I completely agree though, being able to solder a little bit can go a long way to save money and getting way better gear, plus not being afraid of getting your hands dirty and fixing or modding things is liberating. The compressors you mention are legendary, as I'm sure you know, and being able to not only build them, but also fixing them is so great!! I'm a DIYer myself, and will be making a couple of posts on cable making, and possibly stomp pedal making as well, knowing how to build a high quality cable is a really useful skill to have and knowing how to build a stomp box effect pedal it's just fun!

I get the workflow thing as well! It's really easy to get lost and/or take forever to finish a well produced video explaining audio stuff.

I feel the studio and audio stuff it's taken a little time to get some traction, how ever I've seen that there is a lot of people interested in the subject, but feels overwhelmed by the amount of information there is online, that's why I decided to try and simplify the journey into audio and studio learning, I feel that you get much more further with anything you do when you make it in a way that's meant to help someone, in this case I intend to help all musicians who don't know that much about actual audio, starting with the most basic things hehe.

Also I agree, getting like-minded studio folk together on here would be awesome! Maybe on a discord channel? I will look into it! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60140.96
ETH 2378.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59