Programming Music - How I got Tidal working on Mac

in #music6 years ago (edited)

I just discovered a really neat live coding music making environment called Tidal!

If you want to see what it sounds like check this live set - way cool!

It wasn't all smooth sailing getting it installed on my Mac though. Here is how I fixed it:

First problem:
when doing:
cabal install tidal

clang: error: unknown argument: '-no-pie'
gcc' failed in phaseC Compiler'. (Exit code: 1)

Thanks to this stackexchange answer I just needed to open up this file:
/Library/Frameworks/GHC.framework/Versions/8.4.2-x86_64/usr/lib/ghc-8.4.2/settings

and change this line
, ("C compiler command","gcc")
to
, ("C compiler command","/usr/local/bin/gcc-8")

and this line
, ("C compiler supports -no-pie","YES")
to
, ("C compiler supports -no-pie","NO")

Next error, when trying to start the supercollider:

ERROR: Input sample rate is 44100, but output is 96000. Mismatched sample rates are not supported. To disable input, set the number of input channels to 0.
could not initialize audio.

Found a solution from here:

s.options.sampleRate = 96000;
s.reboot;

That's it for now! Stay tuned for my next composition using Tidal which will feature samples from my modular synth rack!

Sort:  

Ahah amazing! Can't imagine myself composing like that ( no knowledge of programming) but find it quite fascinating. Cheers

I normally compose using a DAW so this way of making music is totally new to me too. Their documentations very good so I’m going to keep learning this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58799.78
ETH 3205.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29