It's been a long time since I've written a personal post...

in #music7 years ago

The piano...

When I was a child, pushed to my physical and emotional limits...

There was always one place I could go, to find my center.
Directly across the street, just a few doors down from the cotton field our outskirt suburban neighborhood development was created, was a woman.... who had a piano.

My ankles, and busted knees, always swollen from the rigor of gymnastic practice. My spirit, ever exhausted from the emotional release that I could manage to let go of, through dance. And my mind....
Was only freed from the pain of it all through music..

I dare not call myself a musician.
I am a poet.
Who writes. And sings. And dances.
Yet, most instruments, I cannot play.
I have fat fingers that cannot press individual strings on a guitar.
Also, I can't sing and do anything at the same time.
Singing is such an emotional experience for me that I often...(mostly)... cannot do so in front of an audience.

But there is something about the piano...

There is a comfort that the piano brings, when properly tuned.
Being able to strike a key, and have it create the exact tone you're seeking, is a blessing.

It removes the frustration of having to move one millimeter, toward the left or right, on the neck of a guitar.

When I was so broken and afraid, the piano was my only solace.

I don't know why I elected to put this post together this morning. Yet, here it is.
So, yeah... I guess this is Tuesday's thing for me.
(sidenote: The 504 gateway timeout on Steemit this morning....The Alphabet Mafia has no clue how tenacious Jane is. giggles)

(source: pixabay.com and youtube.com)
~Jane

Sort:  

44 cents, blergh. Upvoted.

I'm just floored... and I get it and I get you :) Thank you for sharing. Just beautiful.

Thank you for reading!!! This song...I've put it on Jane's CHAOS Show playlist for this coming Friday. A show, which honestly, would not exist now, had it not been for the inspiration that your and your partner in crime (lol) I'd gotten from your take it to 2 podcast!!

What? That's amazing, crazy and oh so flattering... congrats and thank you :)

What a beautiful post by a even more beautiful soul. Thank you for sharing @disarrangedjane! :)
Loved the video - the music - the song - the smokey dancee that mirrored her movements...

It is well.

Indeed. It is well.

That was rather profound, I think.

Thank you for reading!!! It just..sort of poured out...

Sometimes that's what you have to do, just let it pour out through your fingers on the keyboard.

I love what you said. I find it relatable, Jane.

There was a time in my life where I had a pretty bad stutter (I think from social anxiety). Playing the sax was a way for me to express it all and just let it move through.

Thanks for sharing this piece of yourself.

Wonderful personal story! Thanks for sharing! This is definitely 'gold' in my opinion!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59425.55
ETH 2345.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44