Songs I Love To Play: Black (Pearl Jam Cover)

in #music6 years ago

"Black" was on the first Pearl Jam album, Ten, back in 1991. I was in a rock cover band at the time, and we raced to learn a few of the songs. "Black" was one of them. And I did my best Eddie Vedder impersonation, sneering the words in an I do not care posture, flannel shirt tied around my waist and winning over the crowd with my moodiness...

Years later, I was playing a solo acoustic show in Colorado. Someone actually requested "Black". I had never thought of doing it without a band, but it's a cool song, so why not give it a go? It became quickly a regular in my set lists, and has been now for about five years. And why not? It's a cool song, from a cool album. People like it, and it always seems to go over well. So...it's become a part of what I do on stage. I'd play it in a band again in a heartbeat, but it's also fun to do on my own.

Yeah, I know...I do the ending all wrong...but that's the way I've been able to make it work, and make it a bit of my own. I hope you like this!

BLACK
words and music by STONE GOSSARD & EDDIE VEDDER

Sheets of empty canvas
Untouched sheets of clay
Were laid spread out before me
As her body once did

All five horizons
Revolved around her soul
As the earth to the sun
Now the air I tasted and breathed
Has taken a turn

Oh and all I taught her was everything
Oh I know she gave me all that she wore

And now my bitter hands
Chafe beneath the clouds
Of what was everything
Oh the pictures have
All been washed in black
Tattooed everything

I take a walk outside
I'm surrounded by
Some kids at play
I can feel their laughter
So why do I sear

Oh, and twisted thoughts that spin
Round my head
I'm spinning
Oh, I'm spinning
How quick the sun can, drop away

And now my bitter hands
Cradle broken glass
Of what was everything
All the pictures had
All been washed in black
Tattooed everything

© Stone Gossard & Eddie Vedder

Sort:  

Always excellent performances!

Thank you, Pris! I do my best! :)

This is one of my all time favorite Pearl Jam songs! Great cover @dinoromanelli!! I absolutely loved it :) and I quite liked your ending too!

Submitted to c-squared; I really wanted to submit it to curie, but I see you were the lucky recipient of their attentions only 15 days ago :) congratulations!

Aw...thank you so much! It always makes me happy when I can sing a song and someone likes it! I really do appreciate it!

It really was my pleasure! I'm still humming or singing that song :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thanks Dino for showing me this, I think I'm gonna work that song up... great job ;9)

Hi, @dinoromanelli!

You just got a 13.49% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

One of my favorite songs. I like the raw acoustic sound. Well done.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60003.48
ETH 2309.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49