Songs I Love To Play: Bad Liver And A Broken Heart (Scott Nolan Cover)

in #music6 years ago

Scott Nolan speaks the truth, y'all. Drink too much and find that love just isn't working for you? This is your song! It certainly is mine, and because it's an upbeat number, it works well when the crowd gets a little rowdy. Even better when they feel like singing along.

And it's always a plus when you can pull a two chord song out of your hat. This one rocks just D and G. But it moves, and it rings very true, at least for me, right now. It also has a fine melody to go with it. Not to be confused with the Tom Waits song with the same title...this is best known as being played by Hayes Carll on his album Trouble In Mind. Nolan, who plays in pretty much obscurity up in Canada, also recorded a version.

Hope you like this. A simple song that works well for me!

BAD LIVER AND A BROKEN HEART
words and music by SCOTT NOLAN

Arkansas, my head hurts
I love to stick around and maybe make it worse
I got a girl out in Henrietta
And her love's like tornado weather

It's girls like this that keep me trying
She goes off like and air-raid siren
Come in cleanly, torn apart
A bad liver and a broken heart
A bad liver and a broken heart

Indian summer, Oklahoma sunset
If there's a nicer place I haven't been there yet
I'm standing outside of the (the) Blue Door
Too tired to sleep
Too drunk for more

It nights like these that keep me trying
A woman always knows when a man is lying
It ain't me I'm just playing a part
A bad liver and a broken heart
A bad liver and a broken heart

I'll get old before I'm good at this
Who's the president? What year is it?
Doesn't anybody care about truth anymore?
Maybe that's what songs are for

You're the wind and I'm on fire
This line of work no one retires
Come in cleanly, torn apart
A bad liver and a broken heart
A bad liver and a broken heart
A bad liver and a broken heart
A bad liver and a broken heart

© Scott Nolan

Sort:  

Congratulations @dinoromanelli! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

UPDATE: Hi @dinoromanelli this post has been featured in Exponential! C² Featured Posts, a daily publication of the @c-cubed blog. Check it out :)
https://steemit.com/curation/@c-cubed/exponential-c-featured-posts-september-20th-2018


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

yeppers great selection, I've never heard that one... too cool.. ;9)

Cool! Glad you like this one. And thanks so much for checking it out!

Love it Dino.. I've missed your music vids!! ♥

Thank you, Serena!!!!! I'll try to keep 'em coming.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63207.55
ETH 2571.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82