🎧 Two new songs from a jam session // minimal mic setup // songs for quality living after suicide

in #music7 years ago

I'm sick... For days now I've been going through hell with nausea, throat ache, burning lungs and occasional head-aches. It sucks big time. 

Tuesday I've decided to have a rehearsal with my band Radost! just because I wanted to wind off a bit. It worked out great, because somehow my breathing balances out while I'm playing. If I knew a bit more about meditation, I could probably explain it, but for now I'll just keep doing whatever I'm doing.

We played 2 improvised pieces, one 30 minutes long, and other the length of 1 full hour. I was really happy, to be able to produce an hour and a half of improvised material is a great thing, the only question is, will anybody ever listen to it? ;)

The great thing is that even tho the performance was shaky and chaotic - due to my sickness and our crazy mind-flow lately - I found two almost perfect pieces of music that are perfect candidates for new songs. Especially the second one. 


The first song is much more diverse than the second one. It has really different (stylistically) parts that overlap with each other. I've put a reversed intro on the beginning of the song. There are some edits that we can do, or even remove some parts of it just to polish it up a bit. Also mix it better so that it follows the themes. My right panned guitarist played some really amazing stuff here. But I especially like the part from 3:40, it just became very ambient and dark after a long crescendo.


This one I love! I think it's absolutely perfect for some theater play, it's very atmospheric and dark at the same time. We usually characterize pieces like that as "songs for quality living after suicide".

The recordings are done with minimal miking setup, and weren't edited, mixed or mastered in any way.

  1. One Bass mic (Shure 58 beta) 
  2. One Guitar mic (Oktava MK012) x 2
  3. Two Overheads (AKG SE300B)
  4. One Kick drum (RE-20). 

The recording isn't EQ-ed or balanced. Just a little compression on the overheads and that's it. I'm really digging that way of work, because you have a really natural sound and no bad phase correlations and if the band played in a balanced matter, the recording will sound OK and you won't have a lot of stuff to fix.

I'll see what will happen with this songs in the next weeks to come. I had an idea of a narration part for the second song, accompanied by a typewriter solo. So, if we do something like that I'll be sure to post it here.

Hope you'll give it a listen.

Sort:  

Hey Dimitri! Digging the jams. I'm 3 minutes in and I can hear some Pink Floyd influence, kinda Money-esque. Very cool!

Sounds great for a minimal setup too. I'm an engineer / producer by trade, feel free to check out my first post, just gone up!

All the best,

Phil

Whoa man, thank you :) I hope you'll be fine after listening to this :D hahah.
I'll check you out for sure man, and really hope to learn some tricks of the trade ,since i'm self-taught.
See you around Phil!

No problem, happy to help out when I can :)

I really like your second share, as you say, quite different to the first recording. I like the minimalistic approach to this track. Love dark music!

Thanks qsounds! You're an appreciated listener :)

Yo Dimitri, you're killing at always dude. You down to be nominated for @OCD mag? Here's the "official comment" lol:

--

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Thanks brother! About the OCD mag, sure, it looks very cool, and I like the thought of being filthy famous and featured in a mag!! :D lol

Nice dude I nominated you in our discord channel! fingers crossed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68648.42
ETH 3813.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48