Drum & Guitar Human Techno // One beat variations // REHEARSAL

in #music6 years ago (edited)


A couple days back me and @bonvivan got into our rehearsal space and droned a bit.
I wanted to practice playing stable upbeats on the hi-hats, and he just had a great opportunity to play around with his looper.
It's a great thing when you can sync the looper with the metronome and just add layers upon layers, everything sounds techno-ish.

I rarely play on a metronome, and usually am not a disciplined player - I always prefer to play more liquid and change the rhythm and it's phrasing as the song and the feeling goes.
But, this time I decided to limit myself to only one rhythm, and a couple of variations of it (mostly, changing the kick placement), and trying to play only one fill (i think I got it).
It's really interesting how almost the exact rhythm can have so much different expressive applications.
It's like we're playing techno, but emotional techno with it's ups and downs.
An unstoppable techno machine that becomes aware of itself and tries to slow down the unstoppable progress to the future by breaking down every now and then. ;)

@bonvivan nailed it with his guitar, he did a bunch of really great melodies, and I believe that we could probably add a couple math-ish elements to twist it up, and make a song out of these themes.
I especially like the beginning of the video, and the end. And some stuff in the middle. Hehe.

Anyways, I believe I'm still lagging a lot behind the metronome, but hopefully we'll have some more rehearsals like this, and with a click, so we'll make some progress. :)

Hope you liked this :)
Cheers!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66498.47
ETH 3469.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62