Alice in Chains Live at the Wiltern

in #music8 years ago

Alice in Chains is a band I've always liked, but never "loved." (Please don't hurt me, fanboys!) However, I was very excited to see them perform live.

The show was at the Wiltern in Los Angeles, which I've visited twice before to watch Faith No More and Coheed and Cambria. This time, however, the only tickets I could secure for myself and my friend Dave were up on the balcony. (I had been on the floor both times previous. This tidbit of information will factor into my review.)

As usual, I wore one of my own designs to promote my art/website. However, instead of my normal Lebowsi tee, I tried wearing my Jimi Hendrix caricature tee, pictured below. I got one or two compliments on it, but nothing like the typical response to my Lebowski tee. Accepting my promotional failure, Dave and I grabbed a couple beers and took our seats upstairs.


The New Regime

New Regime

The opening band was called The New Regime. I later found out that this is the solo project of Ilan Rubin. I'd never heard of him, but I'd heard his music without knowing it. He's the studio drummer for Nine Inch Nails, and he's also worked with acts such as Paramore and Angels & Airwaves. In the studio, he's a one man band, but he's got a three-piece band with him for his tour dates.

I enjoyed The New Regime, for the most part. The first song was spectacular. People were making their ways to their seats, and several stopped in the aisles to watch. The stuff in the middle was a mixed bag... some I liked, some I didn't. He definitely saved the best for last. The song was called Tap Dancing in a Minefield (I think), and he played an epic guitar solo in the middle. Enough so that it made me want to check out what he can do in the studio with it. I've embedded a video of the song for your enjoyment.

The band kept the energy high, and did a fine job of warming up the crowd for the main event. I don't know if The New Regime will ever make it past being an opening act, but if he's already working with big names, it probably doesn't matter.



The New Regime Setlist: Mannequin | Say What You Will | Don't Chase It | Touch of Reality | We Rise, We Fall | Tap Dancing in a Minefield
(This was the setlist from two dates prior... I'm assuming it remained the same.)

Setlist: N/A
Sound: ★★★ out of 5
Energy: ★★★★ out of 5
Live Performance: ★★★★ out of 5
Overall: ★★★½ out of 5


Alice in Chains

Alice in Chains

The lights dimmed, the crowd cheered, the band took the stage. The usual; you know the drill. The stage was very sparse; nothing other than a drum riser and about five or six towers of stacked lights. The seemingly simple light set up was put to very good use. At different points during the evening, the band was bathed in a red, green, or even a checkered glow.

Throughout the show, chatting was kept to a minimum; the band preferred to let the music do the talking. Jerry quipped with the crowd a bit, but kept it to a minimum. William Duvall, who joined the band in 2006, was the most energetic on stage and really was the only band member to move around. His voice sounded great, and his harmonies with Cantrell were almost as good as Staley's... but not quite.

This where I'm going to get the hate mail. While I enjoyed Alice in Chains' performance, I think my expectations were a bit too high. I liked it, but didn't love it. And I wanted to love it. I think my personal problem was two-fold: First, I'm a fan but not a HUGE fan. Second, from the balcony view, you can see everything. When the stage is sparse and there's not a lot of movement, you really pick up on it and it detracts from the overall energy. I watched a couple of videos from the floor level and the experience was totally different. Don't get me wrong, the band sounded fantastic. If I were to judge the concert by sound and setlist alone, it would get five stars. However, the performance and visuals also count in a live setting, and I felt they were lacking.

As mentioned, they sounded fantastic. The highlight for me was Angry Chair transitioning to Man in the Box. Man in the Box is my favorite Alice in Chains song, and the accompanying light show was the most creative. I've included a video from the performance; please enjoy!

If Alice in Chains ever comes to town again, I wouldn't hesitate to go see them. I'll just try harder to get floor tickets.



Alice in Chains Setlist: Hollow | Them Bones | Dam That River | Again | Check My Brain | Nutshell | Angry Chair | Man in the Box | Your Decision | Down in a Hole | Stone | Last of My Kind | We Die Young | Got Me Wrong | Junkhead

Encore: Rooster | No Excuses | Would?

Setlist: ★★★★ out of 5
Sound: ★★★★½ out of 5
Energy: ★★★ out of 5
Live Performance: ★★★½ out of 5
Overall: ★★★½ out of 5


Please Help

I'm a starving artist, and there are three ways to help support what I do:
Thank you for your time and attention, and thanks for reading! If you'd like to help keep this blog going, please support it! You can help in three ways:

First, buy something from my shop! I've got mugs, tapestries, canvas, tee shirts, phone cases, pillows, blankets, and much more.

Second, please consider becoming a patron on Patreon. For as little as $1 per month, you're helping a great deal, and getting exclusive goodies for doing so. For 2017, I'm drawing one celebrity caricature per day and posting it. Visit my Patreon page for the details. Every dollar is a big help, but pledge more and you get more.

The third way is to hire me directly! I'm a professional caricaturist/illustrator. I’m currently offering pet illustrations, personalized caricatures of you or a loved one, and celebrity caricatures. Click the links for details and pricing, or just send me a message by using the form below. Basic illustrations start at just $15!

Sort:  

Excellent set list, great songs, really long too, that guy that came after Layne sounds great. Balcony sounds good in theory, but you just want to be on the floor. Thanks for including video too.

Cool, sounds great. I'm a geezer who grew up with them in the 90's but didn't know they went on after Layne.

Hi I hope I do not mind too much because I just saw
Your profile on facebook and I see that you are the right person for me and deserves this offer. My name is LOPEZ Endrea I am of French origin but I live in Italy for 20 years because of my husband who is of Italian origin. I suffer from a disease that will lead me to death and I have a sum of 60 000 euros which I would like to make a donation to a person of trust and honesty so that it makes good use of it. I am the owner of a car accessories import company. To give a 10% share to the orphan children of his region just for the blessing of the lord after my death. I lost my husband this 7 years ago, we have no child what my heart really touch and I have not been able to remarry to this day because I love my husband too. I would make this sum a gift before my death so that my days may be counted for want of this disease to which I can not have a remedy for my illness. I would like to know later if you really want to benefit from this gift. Here is my email address: [email protected]

Please answer me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43