The importance of the author in music

in #music6 years ago

A warm greeting

Since I began my musical studies and my career as a professional musician, my teachers always told me and emphasized that I should place the author or authors of a song when making a transcription, on a recording or playing live, since in principle there are moral and patrimonial copyright. I'll explain a little.

The moral copyright consists in the fact that when the composer, whether of music or lyrics, including both, publishes his work in some medium, be it radio, television, Internet or any other medium. There, a moral right is created, that is, there is a verifiable proof that this song or musical work has an author.

6 personajes históricos famosos con discapacidades beethoven.jpg

The patrimonial right is when the composer registers that musical work and gives it the right of exploitation, that is, he can earn money with the music he created. It is worth mentioning that here I speak about the musical part but this also applies to different artistic creations such as painting, sculpture, theatre, among others. What motivated me to make this article is that I have observed in many Steemit publications, specifically in a music contest such as Open Mic, sponsored by @luzcypher and supported by @pfunk, along with his team of jurors, which is known internationally, that there are people who place their versions of songs and do not place the author of them or place an author who is not the original.

For example: I have seen that they place the waltz Venezuela as if singer Luis Silva were the composer, when the composers are Pablo Herrero and José Luis Armenteros. They also post songs and don't mention the author.

Imagine you composing a song and making it famous. Would you like your name to appear on the credits when they play it? That's how it should be with all the songs.

So, I'm in this campaign to recognize the authors.
I don't want to say that I am perfect and I've never been wrong when I play a song, but as I said, I always try to keep that detail in mind and give credit to the authors of the songs we play, because without them it wouldn't have been possible for us to have that beautiful piece of music in our hands and our voice.

Needless to say, Steemit is a social network that rewards quality content, and that quality is part of doing things right to grow all together with the confidence that our articles (post) are excellence. Let this article serve to make us all better each day.
Join the campaign to recognize the authors.

Thank you for your time.

Logosteemit.nuevo.jpg

Sort:  

without music, life would be no life! Emotion less life!

That's right, buddy.

It's been tough to find original and pure content. You got a follower buddy !!

I have noticed that too, and I completely agree. There should be some mention of the music’s source. While it can be tricky for Trad and folk music (like what I play), it should definitely be a priority for more modern music.

It's true. Many times it is difficult to know the author in folk music, we have to make a small effort to investigate the good source and that applies more as you say to modern music. Thank you for sharing your opinion.

This post has been upvoted and picked by Daily Picked #5! Thank you for the cool and quality content. Keep going!

Don’t forget I’m not a robot. I explore, read, upvote and share manually :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58075.38
ETH 2463.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38