El Viento by Manu Chao (Cover / Ukulele Test!)

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Happy New Year Steemit! This is my first talking/singing video because I'm pretty awkward in front of the camera. Even though I seem like I talk a lot when I write, ha! Anyway, I told you that I am learning ukulele again so I made a ukulele version of my favorite Manu Chao song - El Viento. I just bought this ukelele but it is not so high end for starters. Forgive me because I'm not a singer nor a musician. But this song is pretty is easy. I'll get a nice video camera next time!

This song reminds me of my hitchhiking days in South America. I just want to dedicate this song to all my brothers who are illegally and dangerously crossing the borders to have better lives. May luck be with you!

This is the English translation of the song.

The Wind

The wind just comes
The wind just goes
Across the border
The wind just comes
The wind just goes
Hunger comes
The man goes
with no other reason
Hunger comes
The man goes
to Babylon route
Along the highway
Along the highway
Good fortune comes
Good fortune goes
Across the border
Good fortune comes
Good fortune goes
The hunger comes
The man goes
with no other reason
Hunger comes
The man goes
when will he return?
Along the highway
Along the highway

Sort:  

Bien hecho! A true hiway star! Deep bows:)

Awww thanks you are so polite! I thought you're gonna say nice background, nice hair etc lol. People have been avoiding to tell the truth hahaha Anyway I got $31 ftw! lol

jesus likes you! you're now at 33:D The look of the production is quite good:) I'd keep 'em coming...The songs and quality would only get better over time, I think:)

I will swallow my pride and sing again next week so brace yourselves! Hahaha I don't care f.... $300 would change lives.

the songs and quality would only get better over time,

Nice way to say it! haha

Learning, practicing and posting 1- per week might be a good strategy. A collection of 52 diabolic songs in a year! Guthrie be proud of ya!

I bought a digital tuner btw, is it the ukulele or should I get a better one? How can I improve the sound?

IMO, at this point, I wouldn't concern yourself with sound as it's just fine with headphones (most people listen this way)...Just practice and learn the songs well and your performances will get better.
Getting better sound requires better mics,preamps, and a DAW--plus a good ear and audio knowledge. That can come, but, IMO, you're better focused on capturing a good performance and you'll have a better chance of doing that the more you practice each song. Hey, it will keep the diabolic busy:D

Ok, I've been practicing another song lately. This advice surely motivates me! Thanks!

Swerte swerte...

Way to go @Diabolika!

Hahahaha suerte boooo! This video must be an insult to the real musicians lol. But it must be the black curtain dude!

I should have sung Forgiveness by Anna Faris hahaha.

That's waay better. I think I heard you sang that too. Too epic. :D

Ssssssssh. Forgiveness is more than saying sorry! Time time time time...

Thanks for being such a fan!

Seeing you play and sing makes me the happiest!
It's a cool song too:D
I can see why it would be a hitchhiking song...

I'm happy when you are happy! I just want to get the message of the song out there.

Great song love Manu Chao! Cracking cover :)

Lol you are too polite! Thanks.

Amazing!

Ukuleleforsabbath.jpg

Hope this helps!

XD

Hahaha this is crazy ukulele already sounds so bad! I won't murder Black Sabbath's songs!

For not being singer or musician you did a great job of singing and playing. lol Are you just secretly a famous singer? lol

It is sad people can't live good lives in their countries so they have to leave all behind in search of the opportunity to have better lives. Don't we all wish the world was more fair and equal for everybody? Hopefully 2018 we will bring more of it. :)

Happy New Year. I wish you and your family all the best in 2018. :)

Awww I wish I could believe that but thanks! Happy new year!

You are more than welcome. :)

Thank you for this wonderful post.
You will become a famous singer in the future performing beautifully
Quality leap with the New Year

lol don't make me believe that. But thanks, happy new year!

I'm just kidding with you
Just want some songs in family occasions.

Too late I already believed lol.

wow awesome voice as well as awesome personality. welldone dear and happy new year

Aww, thanks lol. Happy new year!

Aww, so great to hear your voice and see you in motion!

I got to move around a little bit hehe.

consider me impressed :-)

happy new year

Thanks. Happy New Year @flipstar!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60379.35
ETH 2434.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47