My Track in the Steemit Artists Music Compilation Volume 4 - Criminal

in #music6 years ago

Just wanted to write a quick little post to help boost visibility for the Steemit Artists Music Compilation series - especially since one of my songs is humbly featured in Volume 4! Check it out here! I also wanted to give you a little backstory about the song.

Firstly, definitely check out the whole post, download the compilation directly, or listen to this Youtube version:

You can also find my track on Soundcloud, Spotify or Musicoin!

If you dug this compilation, then definitely consider following @soundlegion as she continues her valiant efforts to bring the Steemit music community more visibility and ears!

Lyrics

Strange how
the hourglass of sand can sound like thunder
slowly rolling by
Truth is,
I can’t recall the last time I was at peace with myself

It's criminal how you do this to me
Perpetuate my disease
It's criminal how you do this to me
It’s killing me softly
bursting right at the seams
like I’m not good enough, good enough
break my heart, break my dreams
It's criminal criminal

This time
I need you to believe me when I ask you
give me some space
Trust me
I’ll do my best to give you what you keep asking me for

How did I not notice this before
How did I not notice this before

It's criminal how you do this to me
Perpetuate my disease
It's criminal how you do this to me
It’s killing me softly
After all that I’ve done
cuz I’m not good enough, good enough
it would seem that you’ve won
It's criminal criminal

I’ve come to hate
the person I’ve become
I need to change this
before I get too numb
I’ll overcome
my insecurity
but still I am
only
me

About The Song

It might come through in the lyrics, but this song is about feeling more and more insecure, due to micromanagement. So many of us (myself included, for sure) draw our confidence from how other people interact with us. It's so easy to become demotivated, disheartened, or withdrawn because of it. It feels like a prison - one where you're constantly under surveillance and you just can't do anything right.

The struggle is to try and find confidence from within, and not have to rely on other's opinions or take micromanagement personally. It's hard! Especially if you're relying on a job where you have to report to a supervisor who picks out every little insignificant thing. But you can do it!

I did two versions of this song - this version was produced by BIG RED, and the other (called Criminal (Panoption)) was produced by JP Anderson from Rabbit Junk. Both versions were mastered by Phil Demetro at Lacquer Channel Mastering in Toronto. I also made an animated music video for the remix version, so dig through my archives to check that out, as well as a making of series!

So...

Thanks so much for including me, and thank you, all my readers, for your support! You're the best! :D

DEROSNEC

WebsiteYoutubeFacebookTwitterInstagramSpotifySoundcloudBandcampMusicoinSociety6Threadless

Art, Music, Movies, Media
Join the Uncensored

Sort:  

Love your work @derosnec really cool vocals awesome production, an entertaining creative piece start to finish. There is a strength and power to your voice and also your photos I absolutely love. Huge honor to get to promote your great track this volume.

Thank you so much for the nice comments!! So happy to be a part of the project :D

I have listened to a lot of the mix and it is one of the best, the first time I have listened to music on Steemit, while I work :)
Very nice song, I hope you will get the recognition it should! But keep it up and you will grow.

thanks for taking a moment to check it out! Glad you like it :D The artist struggle is always to get stuff out there, and Steemit has certainly been a godsend in that respect with it's very active communities. More coming!

Proud of you

Thank you! <3

how to collaborate music with suitable movies

Awesome track - love the blend of electronic elements with this very almost tribal kind of feel. Very cool!

Thank you so much for listening! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60623.84
ETH 2572.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57