Model M - "Monster" Original Music Video

in #music6 years ago

zounds my week has been so nuts that I missed a music Tuesday D: But we're back for now!

So last week, my husband released his latest album "Vengeance", but a few of the songs had actually already been released as singles previously. One of those songs was "Monster", which is probably my favourite song on the album.

The first time I heard it, I was immediately inspired to do this video. It's an hommage to the Grindhouse Horror genre - complete with pseudo-psychological monster manifestations, crazy people, the miami vice cop, and of course beautiful women getting absolutely covered in blood.

The Story

But amongst all the flash and gore, there is actually a linear story: A man is consumed by his inner demons - and manifests an actual monster from the beyond, which he turns into. Upon getting a noise complaint from the neighbours, the cops go to investigate and find the door open... only to discover a massacre inside. One cop gets sucked into the madness upon seeing the destruction, but both succumb to the final form of the monster.

The Production

We shot this on a budget of $300. I had a great relationship with a rental house, which gave me a steal for renting a battery-powered LED panel and Sony FS700 camera, and my special fx person is just a wonderful person who loves what she does and offered her services and fake-blood supply for free. I bartered time and services with an art gallery space to film the ladies from Smoke Noir, who went out of their way to choreograph a whole dance sequence! And the apartment was actually a condemned building across the street from where we were living in Vancouver, which had no power (hence the battery-pack light we needed). We got in touch with the owner and he let us film there. The only other expense was the ghillie suit, which we subsequently covered in blood (naturally).

I had my good buddy assist me with lights and camera, and be the "monster" in the suit - his girlfriend helped out with makeup. The main character you see off the bat is the man himself, my husband. With the actors and crew we totalled 10 people.

The clean up was a feat in itself - my fx girl really went to town in the apartment, and with no power I was on my hands and knees scrubbing away with a high powered flashlight all night long. The things we do for art, right?

Edit and VFX was done by yours truly. I also happen to play the guitars in the track.

The Video -** WARNING, CONTAINS GRAPHIC CONTENT (IMPLIED GORE/VIOLENCE)**

I know this video is definitely not for everybody, but if you're a fan of horror, then you'll definitely like this. If you're not a fan of horror, probably don't watch it. I won't be offended :)

Thanks again for looking, I hope that those of you who do choose to watch it enjoy this insane low-budget horror video!

DEROSNEC

WebsiteYoutubeFacebookTwitterInstagramSpotifySoundcloudBandcampMusicoinSociety6Threadless

Art, Music, Movies, Media
Join the Uncensored

Sort:  

its great @derosnec , creative, I haven't seen mix of these genres. perfect! your husband did a great track and when you created the video, its became visual and we can see the story through your camera :)

Hello @derosnec, thank you for sharing this creative work! If you're interested, take a look at our magazine @creativecrypto. We are all about art on the blockchain, and learning from creatives like you. Swing by and say hello!

Thanks for stopping by, @creativecrypto! That definitely sounds like something I'd love to check out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00