Model M - Freedom From Want (2003) | Original industrial rock music

in #music7 years ago

This week's Music Tuesday features some more from Model M's back-catalogue! This album was made before I got involved with my husband and his music, but there are a lot of great songs on here - in particular one very memorial cover!

Blending synths and unique samples together to create a foot-stomping dance beat, the sound is industrial with a bit of a post-90s feel. If you like raw and heavy dance music which you can also bang your head to, but also like cheesy vampire stories, then this album is for you!

Model M - Freedom From Want (2003)

Model M - Freedom From Want (2003)
Listen on Bandcamp!

Tracklisting

  • March of the Machine
  • Precious
  • Witch
  • Lift
  • Shut Up
  • Vampire Swamp Song
  • The Sound of Silence

Stream It!

Similarly to last week's album highlight, this album is not fully available on Soundcloud for streaming, but here's what is embeddable... and what a great selection it is:

This is one of my favourite songs that my husband's ever done - I don't know what it is exactly, but I remember having this song on repeat when he first gave me the album. That synth line just hits me in the right spot I guess.

This song is hilarious to me - and definitely belongs on the end credits of an episode of True Blood. The title certainly delivers on its promise. Some exciting news, we've got an epic dancefloor remix of this song coming up on his soon-to-be-released new album!

By far his most listened to song, this cover of Simon and Garfunkel's "Sound of Silence" is the gothiest version you will ever hear. The sample in the background? It's an effected recording of a xerox machine in action. Can you get more industrial than that?

Album Notes:

Music written and performed by Terrance Clinton Dick.

Nina Notes:

I know I'm biased as this is my husband's music, but I genuinely like this album as a quintessential synth-sample industrial record. He used a lot of the same techniques as the original trendsetters of industrial for recording and selecting sounds, but pioneered using brand new digital fx processors and softsynths to actually create the final. In fact, he used to get a lot of flack for recording and mixing on a computer with these techniques at the time - comments he would get are "computers can't make music!" or "this whole digital thing will never replace analog and 'real' music!"

...wow look at the music industry now, eh?

As always, I sincerely hope that you enjoy some of this music, or at the very least the stories that come with them. I truly appreciate your support for my and my family's art!

DEROSNEC

WebsiteYoutubeFacebookTwitterInstagramSpotifySoundcloudBandcampMusicoinSociety6Threadless

Art, Music, Movies, Media
Join the Uncensored

Sort:  

Industrial Goth Synth is always fun, gives that Bladerunner night club vibe, which is exactly what everyone wants.

The bridge in 'Hurting' where it momentarily becomes amelodic was super cool; the percussion samples in 'Vampire Swamp' were the highlight of that track, including the strange 'bird' vocal sample acting as a pseudo snare; definitely appreciated the creativity shown in the re-imagining of 'The Sound of Silence'.

All in all, the minimal mixing on the vocals, and the placement of the vocals in the mix (not overwhelming, not under) were the overarching highlights for me.

Thank you for the share, @derosnec!

Wow I really appreciate the thorough comment - you clearly know what you're talking about :)

I must say those have been his strengths - his sound design and his approach to mixing have always managed to keep it feeling raw and DIY without it being hard to listen to.

Thanks for listening! :D

Yeaaa, I know why you had Hurting on repeat. It's soooo dope. If Muse, Jack white, and Marilyn Manson had a baby ... That's "Hurting". Fucking dope!! Reason I said Jack white, is 1:54ish... Sounds just like some Jack White singing at times. Your husband is stupidly talented. Digggg this.

Sound of silence... Wow, really good. This was in 2003?? Wow, so good. Was really feeling this, had to listen to it twice, lol. Great job!!

Loved it! Can't wait for more!

you know, I always look forward to your descriptions of whatever I post :D I can't wait to hear what you think of some of the new stuff I'm singing on.

Thanks again for listening @jamesgetsit - you rock!

Oh yeah!!!!!!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63608.16
ETH 2621.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77