You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why It’s Hard to Finish a Song

in #music7 years ago

Interesting article and some excellent additions to your point in the comments. There wouldn't be a million "how to get inspired" articles out there if it wasn't a common problem, right. I dunno, for me writing for the bin, writing "sketches", doing jams is all a less intimidating way of doing something music related. But then if you take it too easy like that, I dont end up having much finished stuff, because I am just cool with doing a sketch and not taking an idea further. But from other point of view, maybe that in itself is ok, just tons and tons of sketches, still practicing your hand, right, and whenever you feel "inspired" or discipline yourself to finish a track, at least you got more practice compared to if you would just always do nothing at all because you're not ready to work on something. So yea its definitely a balance that is hard to achieve :)

Sort:  

Do you ever regret not finishing a song? Sometimes my songs stay in my head for years and I keep thinking how I would finish them, but I don't, and then they linger in my brain too much and it makes me crazy.

I save those aforementioned "sketches" all the time, but I have never returned to work on them, to me the ideas themselves sometimes are short lived. But most definitely I have several saved ideas that I think I would love to extend on, but never get to. Hope that makes some sense :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59316.00
ETH 2518.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43