Everybody Loves Somebody - Cover Of Dean Martin, My Alcoholic Idol

in #music7 years ago

(Für Deutsch nach unten scrollen)


 You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on. -Dean Martin

As of writing this, I just found out that this terrific being died the year I was born (1995). Kind of selfish of him to succumb to his smoking and drinking before I could see him live, but we'll let it slide. 

I had a little free time today, so why not use it productively, I told myself. So I grabbed my uke and my camera and decided to record something short. I went for the song "Everybody Loves Somebody", a song that should be fairly known amongst the rat pack enthusasts here on Steemit. 

Let me just say it right now, I am one awkward dude.


I am really new to being a musician. Not counting shower performances. So, naturally, I have yet to collect an amount of stage experience until I can confidently step on a stage. I mean, I kind of sing the same on one as I would alone in my apartment by myself, but there's waaaaaaay more to performing than just singing, I realized that now. But I have at least gotten to the point where an audience, if I have time to mentally prepare for it, does not intimidate me. Today, I yet again noticed what happens if I don't have that time.

I headed for the forest that is right next to my home, and since it was a beautiful day, there were obviously a lot of people in there. Now, I could have just set up the camera, sat down and recorded that song, ooooor I could have moved my location approximately 20 times, for a total of 2 1/2 hours, just to find a location that had absolutely no human being in sight for a long enough time. guess which one I did. As soon as a kid, adult, dog or anything capable of judging me was near, I panicked, packed up everything and just sat there like an idiot, just so that nobody would even have a chance of hearing me.

My point is, I admire Dean Martin not because of his chauvinism or drug abuse, but for his consistent ability to truly, 100% not give a damn about what other people thought of him and standing on that stage with a confidence that I only have during my morning pep talks with my bathroom mirror.

 

_____________________________________

Du bist nicht betrunken, wenn du auf dem Boden liegen kannst ohne dich festzuhalten. - Dean Martin

Während ich das hier gerade schreibe, bin ich auf die Information gestoßen, dass dieses großartige Wesen im selben Jahr gestorben ist, in dem ich geboren wurde (1995). Ein wenig egoistisch von ihm, seinem Rauchen und Trinken zu unterliegen, bevor ich ihn live sehen konnte, aber es soll ihm verziehen sein.

Ich hatte heute ein wenig freie Zeit, also wieso die nicht produktiv nutzen, hab ich mir gesagt. Ukulele und Kamera gegriffen und aufgemacht, was Kurzes aufzunehmen. Ich hab mir den Song "Everybody Loves Somebody" ausgesucht, den sollten die Rat Pack-Enthusiasten hier auf Steem kennen.

Ich sag's gleich vorweg, ich bin ein echt unsicherer Kerl.


Ich nenne mich erst seit kurzer Zeit selbst einen Musiker. Die Gesangseinlagen in der Dusche ausgeschlossen. Natürlich muss ich deshalb erst genug Bühnenerfahrung sammeln, damit ich sicher auf einer Bühne stehen kann. Ich singe da oben schon in etwa so, wie ich das allein in meiner Wohnung tun würde, aber es gehört einfach viiiiiel mehr zu einer Performance, als nur zu singen, das hab ich inzwischen verstanden. Ich bin jetzt zumindest soweit, dass ich, wenn ich Zeit habe, mich mental darauf vorzubereiten, nicht mehr von Zuschauern eingeschüchtert werde. Heute durfte ich es mal wieder erleben, was passiert, wenn ich nicht diese Zeit habe.

Ich gehe also in den Wald hinter meinem Gebäude, und weil es so ein schöner Tag war, sind natürlich massig andere Leute da. Also, entweder bau ich meine Kamera auf, hock mich hin und nehm das Ding schnell auf, ooooooder ich wechsel 20 Mal die Stelle für einen Zeitraum von 2 1/2 Stunden, nur damit mich ja keine Seele während der Aufnahmen hören kann. Sobald Kind, Erwachsener, Hund oder irgendwas, das mich beurteilen kann, in Sichtweite kommt, pack ich sofort alles zusammen und sitz einfach da wie ein Idiot, bis ich wieder allein bin.

Auf was ich hinaus will, ist, dass ich Dean Martin nicht wegen Chauvinismus oder Drogenexzessen verehre, sondern wegen seiner Fähigkeit, absolut keinen Dreck drauf zu geben was andere von ihm denken, und auf der Bühne zu stehen mit einer Selbstsicherheit, die ich höchstens während meines morgentlichen Pep Talks in den Badspiegel habe.

Sort:  

Hallo @dee-jay !

Dies ist eine automatische Nachricht.

Anscheinend hast Du das erste Mal auf #deutsch geschrieben.
Willkommen bei Steemit !
Schau doch mal im https://steemit.chat/channel/deutsch vorbei !

enjoyed your song...so glad people know who Dean Martin is .. one the greats

Thank you so much! Love the whole era of that music, definitely will do more of those covers :)

Really incredible cover. You chose the perfect song for your voice. Keep up the great work.

Thanks man! Especially for resteeming man!! :O means a lot!

OMG..! you´re
The Man

Beautiful Cover..!

Haha thank you so much man! The gif made me even more happy! ^^

It may have taken you a long time to find the right location but I'm glad you did because the setting really added to the atmosphere of the song :)

Thank you very much, glad to hear the hassle paid off! :D

You're talented mate, really enjoyed this! look forward to more :)

Thank you so much man! Really appreciate the nice feedback! :)

Welcome to Steemit :)
I follow u, follow me back if u want lot of fun and amazing picture every day.

Your voice is simply beautiful!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by dee-jay from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56278.39
ETH 2377.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29