My music journey

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Chapter one

Ever since I was a child, I had a strong connection with music. I enjoyed radio a lot because that was pretty much the only way for me to listen to music back then. In 3rd grade my dad bought a small hi-fi that could reproduce CDs and my life changed completely. The first CD I got was a gift from my cousin, Linkin Park - Meteora. From that day on, Linkin Park became and remained my favourite band ever. There was something about their music that intrigued me. It had me hook so much that I wouldn't listen to anything else for quite some time. Chester was probably the one that intrigued me the most. I was so amazed that a voice could be so elegant and beautiful in one part yet so powerful and intimidating in other parts. In that moment I wanted to do that, to ''sing'' like Chester.

Chapter two

I had absolutely no knowledge that metal music even exists so I started researching. I found all kinds of music but the bands that really caught my attention were Bullet for my Valentine, Bring me the Horizon, A Day to Remember and similar bands. Understandably they all had clean vocals and some screams but I started to focus more on screams. I remember listening to Bring me the Horizon and thinking that I want to do that. I want to be in a band and scream my heart out on stage. I can't remember how I ''screamed'' for the first time. It always felt natural to me and I still can't explain the technique behind it, I just do it. And because I realized I can do it, I was hooked. I practiced every single day for at least 30 minutes for almost 2 years, but I couldn't find a band. Metal was not something acceptable in my area. But I am lucky enough to have amazing parents who put up with my hours and hours of screaming. I wanted people to hear me and the only way for that was YouTube and I started doing covers. I did a number of covers from all kinds of genres. You can check them all out here : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC68tSo4XJdGLCCPMnCyOCFA


Chapter three

After high school I moved to Rijeka to attend college and because it's a city, it gave me an opportunity to search for people who would like to play music. I started my first band Senses with my roommate and some other friend I met in the first few month in Rijeka. The band was some kind of metalcore and we never had a live performance. The band fell apart as members were forced to move back home.
After that I couldn't find people to play music I wanted. One random day 3 years ago I got a message from a guy saying he has a project and needs a vocalist. He sent me some riffs and I was blown away. We soon met and he invited me to their rehearsal. I will never forget that first rehearsal. I clicked with them instantly so much we made a complete song. Soon after we agreed on a name Neglected and started practicing a lot. Our first live was on 1st of August 2015 and since that we played around 15 or so shows. We shared the stage with Cold Snap and a lot of other cool bands.

That is my journey for now. Soon I'll be playing at a festival in Pula, Croatia so you expect some posts about that.
Thanks for reading!

D.Deak

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61361.03
ETH 2932.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67