Ask Steemit: What are some weird bands/songs that you enjoy?

in #music6 years ago

Hey there, Steemians! I have a bit of a random question for you guys and gals today pertaining to music. Lately, I've started branching out into a few new bands and genres of music that could be considered weird or strange according to the people I've shown it to. And, it got me curious as to what kinds of strange music you all might listen to. I'm always open to new stuff, and figured this could be a decent way to share same non mainstream music with one another that might help us find some new stuff to listen to! For anyone curious about the type of stuff I've been listening to lately, I'll drop some links below for you. 

This first band is a side project from a pretty well known Musician by the name of Mike Patton. You might know him from a plethora of things. Whether it be from his time singing in the band Faith No More, or from his insane voice acting abilities which he has shown off in games like Left 4 Dead as the infected, or the demonic Darkness from The Darkness video game series and many others. He's also done voice acting in films and TV series, and written musical compositions for such things as well. In addition to all of that, he's collaborated with such bands as The Dillinger Escape Plan, and had quite a few side project bands. As a matter of fact, one of those bands is something I just got interested in recently called Mr. Bungle. I honestly am not sure how I would classify this music beyond being alternative. Here's one of my favorite tracks from them. 

Another interesting band which I have discovered in recent times is a band called Whitewoods. The band is composed of duo of Australian musicians who make music that is considered to be vaporwave and chillwave, neither of which being genres that I was even aware of until just a few months ago. They currently only have two albums available to listen to, but are working on a 3rd album which will be released at some point in the near future hopefully. If you're curious about their music, I'll link one of their most popular songs down below which happens to be one of my favorites from their tracks. 

So, I could go on all day linking weird tracks or strange bands that I have discovered over the recent months. But, then we would be here all day. Instead, how about you guys share some of your favorite strange music? I'd love to discuss music with you all, and I'm sure I can't be the only one who listens to something that would be considered a bit odd by your average person. So, feel free to leave some song suggestions or tracks down below for me to check out! I try to reward genuine comments and discussion, so don't be shy and hop in and leave a comment! 

Thanks for stopping by! Appreciate it! 

Sort:  

A couple bands that I used to listen to that always got a reaction from people was Trophy Scars and The Mars Volta. Right now Ive been on an instrumental kick, especially this group from Australia called The Omnific.

I've been into heavier instrumental stuff over the past few years, like Animals As Leaders and Scale the Summit. I tend to find that most people really don't give stuff a chance if it has no vocalist for some reason. It's really weird.

I haven't heard of Trophy Scars, but I have listened to The Mars Volta a handful of times in the past. I'll have to look up Trophy Scars and see how I like that though!

I tend to listen to metal music, but then again, every now and then I stop by and listen to some POP music like Avril Lavigne and so on, even Katty Perry, then again, I return to good old metal- guess the music is more of a mood type- not enitrely based on what You are 'mostly' listening to.

Yeah, I would say most of my musical taste is metal music but I can enjoy some pop music from time to time, but it's mostly older Pop that I tend to latch onto. What kind of metal bands do you like, if you don't mind me asking?

Mostly BMTH and Parkway Drive

Travis are a good band deadspace thank you

With love,

harj : ) xoxo
Abstract artist
(My latest artwork is "Government")

Mr Bungle was definitely an important band to me while I was in high school. Especially that album "California', and helped me start a journey. As for more weirdo bands, The Residents are insane...they are a strange synth/art band that have been around since the 70's and are still kicking. Video of The Residents :

.

Another band to check out is Ween, some stuff is more normalish, but their stuff is delightfully messed up. Ween :

The first video is The Residents. A Strange synth-weirdo band from the 70's till today. And The 2nd video "Happy Colored marbles" by Ween. These are two of my favorite weirdo bands (Mr.Bungle definitely is another major one). Enjoy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16