Music worth checking out: Silence iZ Mine (SiM)

in #music7 years ago

So, I have a very wide and varied taste in music. There's a lot of bands that show up in my playlist that not many people have heard of, and probably should. I figured it'd be worth sharing some of these bands, and expand my fellow steemians' horizons. We're going to start off with Silence iZ Mine, or SiM.

SiM is a rock/reggae group that hails from Japan. They're signed with Gil Soundworks, which is part of the Universal Music group. I first found out about them in 2015, when I visited Tokyo for the first time. Another tourist who was staying in the hostel with me pointed them out. The song he shared was Amy, off the EP Life and Death:

I liked their style, and went out and picked up Life and Death along with another album, Seeds of Hope. When I visited Tokyo last February, I made it a point to stop by Tower Records in Shibuya and purchase as many of their albums as I could. I'm close to a full discography, which makes me rather happy.

SiM's style relies heavily on autotune, which can be a good thing and a bad thing. It's part of their musical style, but at the same time, I like the lead singer's voice and wish he'd actually use it more often. Their overall sound style is alright, not the best band out there but definitely not the worst. It's enjoyable music, even if it is a bit generic.


What SiM has going for it, however, is their stage presence. The music video for their song titled "riot" was filmed during the Red Bull concert series. The pit is raucous, the music is thumping, and they have a friggin' half pipe hanging off the back of the boat! It's over the top, but the band looks like they're genuinely having fun being on stage.

The other proof I have of their amazing stage presence comes from a 2015 video posted on the Gil Soundworks youtube channel. During a concert, they did a cover of "What's Up People" by Japanese metal band Maximum the Hormone. The result? Well...see for yourself:


When was the last time you saw Axl Rose legitimately enjoying himself on stage? SiM has this magnetism when they put on a show. They love what they do, and it shows in their performances. They've been to the states once that I'm aware of. I would love to see them live, they're a fun enough group that they deserve to get play time here in the States and around the world.

If you like posts like this, please upvote and resteem. I have others I want to share, but I want to make sure this is something that steemians want to see more of. No point in annoying you guys, right?

Sort:  

Haha right on! These guys are kinda fun, and super neat that they played with Maximum the Hormone.

That was just a cover, actually. They haven't played with them, afaik.

Congratulations @ddrfr33k! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63501.83
ETH 2650.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81