My quest to find a drummer

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Once upon a time (many years ago) I tried to form a band. I posted on the various New Zealand musician forums and put up fliers in the local music shops. I had a wide range of musical interests so I was not very fussy, I just wanted to play some music.

I found a few people but I could not find a drummer. I posted more adverts specifically for a drummer. I got a lot of calls but they would typically go like this:
Caller: Hi, I saw you were looking for a drummer.
Me: Yes we are.
Caller: Do you need another guitarist?

The very best call I got went like this:
Caller: Hi, you are looking for a drummer?
Me: Yes
Caller: Cool, I play drums ... although I currently live in Wellington. Is that going to be a problem?
Me: That could be a bit difficult (I was trying to form a band in Auckland)
Caller: Oh yeah, um, do you have a drum kit? Mine is stuck in Australia.

In the end I gave up on having a drummer and went with recorded synths and drums. The three other musicians I had recruited decided they all wanted to play guitar. So my band had 4 guitarists and no other musicians. We had a few jam sessions, which were fun, but then it turned out that we were each enjoying programming the drum tracks and all decided to do our own electronic music things instead.



Source: https://www.pexels.com/photo/pearl-orange-drumset-in-tilt-shift-lens-60636/

teamau banner.png

Sort:  

This post reminds me of our band that we form when we were in university, like 15 years ago I think. At first we were only two, a guitar and bass even without vocals we were trying to play some songs. Later we managed to find some others but couldn't find a drummer like you. We recorded some songs by using the guitar pedal and some software. We even record a music video over this record:

It was an amateur spirit but we had a lot of fun.

I play drums, but I live in California! lol I do have a nice electronic kit though if you ever need any MIDI performances for your tracks. I've been playing for about 19 years now and can play just about any style. Hit me up if you need any drums, man!

Life has a funny way of sorting things out, doesn't it?

For some reason I read your comment as "Well, life has a funny way of sneaking up on you" in Alanis Morissette voice and now I have that song stuck in my head :)

You got a 11.95% upvote from @upmyvote courtesy of @datascience!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63466.84
ETH 2636.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76