My first attempt at playing the drums

in #music7 years ago


I have played guitar/bass/ukulele/mandolin for many years and messed around occasionally with a midi keyboard and then a melodica but I have never played the drums. I recently picked up a very cheap ($20) drum kit off Gumtree and after a new pedal and kick drum skin and some other repairs I have a working drum kit (sans cymbals which will come later if I get into it). This is my first real attempt to play the drums after watching a couple of YouTubes. IT'S HARD! I have a lot of practice to do but I now have my baseline.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

$20 for a drum kit! What a bargain!
I've always wanted to learn how to play the drums. I've only really played the arcade drum ones which are no where near the real thing.

Wait..20$ ??
Where did you buy it ?
@datascience

Off gumtree although did need to buy a new drum skin, pedal, and stool

Nice vid mate. Drums are definitely a different kind of instrument to play. Being a bassist primarily I tend to notice the drums more than guitar riffs but it is amazing when you are opened up to a different aspect of music. Old songs get new life when you focus on different areas.

That's an awesome bargain for $20! Drums look fun :D

They are fun but also hard - although I have to remind myself that this is day 1 and other new instruments I have learned like the mandolin have always been an extension of existing skills.

6 MINS FOR THE NEXT 60 YEARS OF YOUR LIFE - A RANT

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.02
ETH 2553.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78