You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: THE TOP 22 SECRETS SABOTAGING YOUR ARTISTIC CAREER (Part1)

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Brilliant post my friend and so eloquently put.
I felt as if you were talking to me because, I do those self doubt, 'I don't have time' kind of poor excuses. With me, It's the fear of failure and not getting the feedback that I so yearn for! I'm needy, and don't have enough confidence in my music craft to push myself forwards. But on the contrary, I am now actively doing that here, with amazingly positive musicians like yourself Nathan, that have total empathy for the talented among us.
So, I want to thank you once again for keeping me buoyant in this over populated musical world!
Cheers
Darren
PS. Which book is this from? obviously yours, right?

Sort:  

Thanks @darrenclaxton mate!
Well, it's good to be able to recognise those things inside, mate. That's the first step to healing and transforming old negative behavioural patterns into positive, non-obstructive patterns.
You have the talent.
Skills can be grown by consistently working on them.
There's always someone better and there's always many not as skilled,

the ony person you should strive to be better than is the person you were yesterday.


We need to prioritise. It's what other things we're willing to give up (ie. TV, social media, etc) that open gaps of time for practice.
Whilst the world appears saturated by musicians wanting success, it is far more populated by people wanting more music and there's a portion of them that will specifically love your music.

PART 2 of the article was just posted up.


https://steemit.com/music/@nathankaye/the-top-22-secrets-sabotaging-your-artistic-career-part-2

Thanks for the motivational speech mate! I'm taking all of your advice on board and slowly collecting the tools needed for self actualisation. One of the tools I come back to time and time again is Maslow's hierarchy of needs.

IMG_20180401_084526.png

source

We should think ourselves very fortunate to be living the life we have! Sadly, so many of us are barely reaching their physiological needs on our planet.
Cheers again for triggering the philosopher in me, it was there all the time.
Happy Choc Day bud.
Daz

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67947.42
ETH 3264.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66