Can You Weather The Storm?

in #music6 years ago

A few years ago one of my good friends asked me to write a poem for his upcoming mixtape. I was honored that he held my writing to such high regard that he wanted me to be apart of his upcoming mixtape. He is a Christian Rapper and likes to make music about topics most artists do not shed light on. He is leading the way with positive energy and it’s a must I share it with the Steemit community.

As we all know artists tend to be sensitive about their craft. And honestly when I listened back to myself on the track off first listen I didn’t like it.. mostly my tone and I felt I was off beat. However I had to remind myself that my part of the song was me speaking my poem in a spoken word format whereas his was purely a rap. After readjusting my mindset I can say I can dig it!!

image

Let me know what you think:

https://soundcloud.com/younghumblesaved116/steveo-rainfall-ft-d-amond

Also check out the rest of Steveo’s mixtape on SoundCloud, called Frozen World Mixtape.

In case you can’t listen to the track, no worries, I’ll give you a peak at my part. Below you will find the original poem I wrote for this track:

Weather The Storm

When it rains it pours
That's what they always say.

See, this world revolves around what you have
And not what you imagine
Unless it'll make money grow more faster
Such a greed does no good deed
Many are dying because they can't eat
Why?
Cuz the next man is worried bout his own pocket relief
Many commit crimes just to have some sort of money
Why?
Cuz the rich make it their job to act financially funny
Many are sick and can't afford to get better
Why?
Cuz the owner who manufactures the medicine is wondering if he should buy this new $500 sweater, whether or not u get treatment... He doesn't care he isn't ur keeper
Many have no place to live
Why?
Cuz the people at the top are the stingiest to give and truly only care about how they live
To them it's their world and we just take up space
Did these lost souls forget about Gods grace?

When it rains it pours
that's what they always say

But We are built for greater we are built for more
It is up to you to weather the storm
Money is the root of all evil (this I know)
So why do we need it to be civil
(It's the ploy of the evil)
We need to escape the pressures of money
But without it the rain pours
Dreams and aspirations soar
But this fixation puts a dark cloud
Coming from nothing instantly makes you want something
Looking at the next person like 'if only I had what you had'
Then maybe I wouldn't feel sad
Maybe just maybe I could stand in the rain glad

When it rains it pours
That's what they always say
....ya ever wonder how come?

For, On a Earth so vast
With resources built to last
Money hardly comes but when it does its gone so fast
More money, more problems (we all know that saying)
Yet we go around acting like having more money will solve 'em (ain't that crazy)
But put that thought in the past
We make life what it is
And no matter the size of the opposing force
This life of ours makes us the captains of our very own course
With a coach in the Most High
It's time to bury our pride
Forget about what you don't have
And look to who and what u do have
Never mind your wants, take care of your necessities
For we walk around and complain
Not realizing we have everything to gain
We are already rich, you don't need money to tell u so
When was the last time u threw extra food away
Or went out and got those new Js
Then want to say how u don't have when really that coulda went to those who didn't have
Don't get lazy
And allow the object of money to turn your world shady

You want to weather the storm I'll tell ya how
Stand firm like a palm tree
For we are free as can be
Yet grounded in faith for heavens sake
Jesus died on the cross
So that we would never feel lost
With God all our wants are exceeded
With God the troubles of our past will be deleted
With God money or no money u can have it all
With God no matter the force of the rain you'll never fall
Stand tall
And be all
That God created us for
And then will the issues we think we have seem to go

Sort:  

Your post received an upvote by the @illuminati-Inc music curation team and its partner @curie.

You may consider voting for the Curie witness; all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations including but not limited to more than 10 curation teams (vote here).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62108.38
ETH 2582.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57