The Sound Hole: The Band – The Weight

in #music6 years ago

WOAH! I didn’t see you there, you shouldn’t snea'…

Welcome, travellers, to my shop of musical delights! Don't touch that!…you’ll make it dirty. While you have all been ageing, I have been coursing through the planes of existence, a wandering miasma of human intellect, and discovered yet another audible wonder.

Now, I know what you’re thinking, and the answer is no!

This song is a warming blanket of sincerity and asks for nothing more than an ear to bear it. Join me on a journey to discover a bonding band of boys, banded by a band, branded, boisterously as The Band.

‘I pulled into Nazareth.’

'The Band' was a Canadian-American roots rock group formed in Toronto, Ontario. The members of The Band first came together as Ronnie Hawkins' (rockabilly singer) backing group - the Hawks - in which they joined one by one between 1958 and 1963.

They were later commissioned to back Bob Dylan, and in having to leave their name behind, where then introduced as ‘The Band’ – although the members didn’t warm to the idea, the name later grew on them.

The debut of their first album ‘Music from big pink’ (1968), was well received and included three songs of which were co-written by Dylan himself.

…But we don’t wanna give you that!

One of the songs featured on that album was later used in the film Easy Rider which, thereafter, became one of their most well-known songs - it is known simply as ‘The Weight’.



My tympanic membranes?! …They hear such wonderful things!

So, the song begins with the two of the main instruments: Guitar (opening phrase), and Drums. The Bass Guitar follows, entering just after the very last bass-drum hit on beat four – “dum…dum-dum-bass”. The Piano does the same - sneaking in with a very comfortable rolling arpeggio. Now that the instruments and overall tone have been established, in comes the singer, with his most humbling vocal - proving that character often outperforms quality.

The only other instruments that have yet to enter are the backing vocals of the other band members; these are mostly heard through the chorus line but, oh, what a sound! I especially adore the climbing piano line just before the chorus kicks in.

Every instrument is crystal clear in the mix and if you really pay attention you can switch your focus between them. Also, pay attention to how the track is spaced within the stereo field; each instrument really balances well against the other – something that should be a given, but, you would be surprised. Take some time to really appreciate those vocal harmonies that build on each phrase and, finally, have a read of the lyrics – they’re very well written and tell a story about the impact of a town called Nazareth, Pennsylvania on a young Robbie Robertson.


Most well written verse:

I picked up my bags, I went looking for a place to hide,
When I saw old Carmen and the Devil, walking side by side.
I said, "Hey, Carmen, c'mon, let's go downtown",
She said, "I gotta go, but my friend can stick around"


‘You put the load right on me.’

Maybe you have heard this song before, maybe you haven’t, nevertheless, I hope that you may now see it with fresh ears - having had it forced back upon.

I love this song. I think it is wholesome, honest, and it says exactly what it needs to in every way that music allows. May it be added to playlists everywhere as to be a warming blanket on those colder days.

Thanks for reading...now, get out of my sound hole, you wretched beasts!

…Take a load off, Steemit.
Dan


Who are you?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 60880.00
ETH 2626.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57