Effects pedals and my current pedalboard setup

in #music7 years ago

Effects pedals are an essential tool for musicians to alter the sound produced by their instrument. The use of these is more common with electrical instruments such as guitar, synth and bass, but over time I have seen their use also reach some singers, saxophonists, trombonists and even drummers.

Any guitarist attracted by the effects pedals (they are more likely to amass them) will sooner or later need his pedalboard. It can be a very useful investment because it allows you to stack your effects easily, organize your pedals, patch cables and your power supply in the order you want which would avoid you a lot of obstructions. It also can prevent your wires to end up like your earphones when you put them in your pockets.

Here is my current pedalboard setup and some other pedals I own :

Fichier 18-01-02 3 59 34 p.m..jpeg

From left to right :

  • loopstation RC3 by BOSS
  • Immersed reverberator by Neunaber
  • Analog Delay by JOYO
  • Shin Juku custom shop drive by MXR
  • True over drive by Lunastone
  • Tone corset compressor by Electro Harmonix

Fichier 18-01-02 3 59 14 p.m..jpeg

Tube screamer overdrive mini by Ibanez.
(Very similar to the TS-8)

Fichier 18-01-02 3 57 44 p.m..jpeg

RAT II distorsion by Proco.
(Basically like a high-gain tube screamer)

Fichier 18-01-02 3 56 31 p.m..jpeg

Freeze sound retainer by Electro Harmonix.
(Retain the sound that is playing the moment you push the button)

Fichier 18-01-02 3 56 46 p.m..jpeg

Dynamic Wah AW-3 by BOSS.
(Produces the same kind of sound as the classic wah but the effect is instead triggered by sound actions when it reaches a certain level, just like a compressor)

Fichier 18-01-02 3 56 14 p.m..jpeg

Whammy 5 pitch shifter by Digitech.
(The very first pedal I owned)

Fichier 18-01-02 3 55 54 p.m..jpeg

Sort:  

Loving seeing some pedal love on steemit. I've got about ten earthquaker devices alone ...i'm going to have to back up your #effectpedals tag once I get my first dtube modular synth video up as an introduction. Hoping to see more and more studio/technical centric music content on here in 2018. Building a base of people interested in pedals, modules, mic technique ... would be so tremendously epic.

Don't ever sell your whammy. They will enter Space Station price ranges in a few years as they continue their natural half life progression into a pile of rusty, sensorless dust. Nothing like it, though I have been so thoroughly engrossed with the EQD Data Corruptor that I'm not sure I'll ever need another pitch modulation effect again. = )

I totally agree with you, a community of effect pedals/music gear lovers and people interested in studios techniques would be awesome on Steemit! Glad you tell me about the whammy because I was just about to sell it haha. Thank you very much!

Bravo, bon article!

Loving that Lunastone...!

I love very much both the sound and the design of this pedal. Just buyed it last week to a friend of mine and it quickly became one of my favorite overdrives!

Awesome! i currently only have 1 multieffect pedad haha... i hope to start buying soon some analog pedals... keep rocking!

It always start somewhere! Once you start, at a certain point you'll never get enough of these, amassing effects pedals can be pretty addictive haha. Thank you very much!

dope set up! how do you feel about the using modeling amps like the kemper?

Thank you very much! I used a Kemper once when one of my teacher just had buyed his own and showed it to me... I liked it! It's the only modeling amps I ever tried so I don't have very much to say about other modeling amps or that kind of stuff.

Timely that I saw your post. I have picked up guitar again for probably the 4th time in my life. I’m not young any more but I’m figuring out finally what I like: small tube amp, a few tasty pedals, and a Fender Tele or Strat with a fat 50s style neck. Heaven. I just got that same Boss Looper pedal... that’s a fun gadget and way better than a metronome for practice. My pedalboard is only lacking a echo.... any suggestions?

The Beatbuddy and Beatbuddy mini just went in stores, you should probably check those out as it can also be a great alternative to a metronome for practice! For an echo/delay pedal I currently aim for the ND-1 Nova Delay by TC-Electronic, the Echosystem by Empress or the Tonal Recall by Chase Bliss, but these pedals are pretty expensive. Right now my Analog delay by JOYO works just fine as I buyed it only for 50$ (CND), it does the job very well! The Immerse reverberator also has an echo in it if you'd be willing to have both a reverb (very very good reverb if you'd ask) and an echo in the same pedal (you can then pan them with the knobs).

Just watched a Pete Thorn demo of the Immerse. I'm thinking about that one... wow, it's like a rackmount unit in a stomp box. :thumbs up:

Great article! I wish I had the ability to use a real rig with an amp and pedal board. Unfortunately, I live in an apartment and don't have the space to store any gear, and it's also pretty loud to have an actual rig. Instead I just use amp simulators like Bias FX. It's pretty decent for my purposes anyway. Have you ever tried using amp sims before? Would love to know your thoughts on amp simulators and effects pedals compared to the real thing.

Thank you very much! Amp simulators can be interesting, however I think they can also limit the player with his sounds. they often don't allow as much possibility as effects pedals and amp simulators effects (especially distorsions) rarely sound as good as pedals. For me effects pedals are a must for any musician at least once in their life. It can be very expensive and amassing them mostly takes a lot of time and money, but after 3 years of investments I'm yet not even close to be disappointed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65856.98
ETH 2663.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88