You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Some of my favorite songs... fasten your seat belt.

in #music7 years ago

DUDE.... it is INSANE that you put Opeth into this post, today I literally JUST revisited my Opeth phase.... been listening to 2002's "Deliverance" all day today while driving around and doing errands! Definitely one of my favorite bands as well!

Sort:  

Their last couple albums haven't touched me as much as the Blackwater Park up through Watershed phase. I think their albums from Blackwater Park to Watershed were all master pieces.

Though all of their other albums have really cool stuff on them too. I haven't really gotten into the last two albums that much. Getting to where it sounds a little too much like Early 70s to me. This isn't bad, but that means it is starting to sound like something. Opeth one of the things I liked is they didn't sound like anyone else.

On that we definitely agree my friend. "Deliverance" and "Ghost Reveries" are my favorite albums from them, but "Blackwater Park" is a VERY close third for me. But as far as the album span goes, we both agree. "Blackwater Park" to "Watershed" was my favorite era of them as well. I still bought "Heritage" but it just didn't really do it for me when I listened to it, as compared to all their work before that.

In case you missed these... while I was making the #metaltree series I found some pretty bad ass bands when it comes to SOUND and skill. Here are a few I really liked in case you missed them...

Those were all from my Djent post and I hadn't heard them before but they are pretty bad ass IMO.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62416.00
ETH 2447.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62