You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Opeth - A Choose Your Own Adventure - Musical Tour

in #music8 years ago

You never cease to amaze me good sir. As we have discussed in the past, I'm completely obsessed with Opeth. I have to say that Deliverance is by far my favorite album from them (that fucking rager of an opening track, "Wreath", just blows me away every time I listen to it, and at almost 12 minutes long! GAH!), so you're AWESOME for mentioning/featuring the title track. I hate that I can't catch them this year (they're coming to the House of Blues in my area). Grrr.... but yes, the stuff that I have heard from their new album is pretty sweet. But I still can't help but find myself wishing they could do another death metal album. But regardless of that, I'm still really digging their new-ish prog rock style, it takes me into sort of a 60's-70's type of vibe, which I think is what they were going for in that respect. Awesome job on these posts brother! \m/

Sort:  

Thanks Damian. Just trying to mix it up. Music posts don't usually do too well for me. I am glad to see your music posts have been doing well too. Wreath would have been a good choice. There are just so many damn good songs by them. It was really difficult to choose. I mean I really like Harlequin Forest a lot as a song, it's one of my favorites... especially the screwed up tempo stuff at the end.

Yet Ghost of Perdition is bad ass too.... I personally get into the songs where they mix Death Metal with a lot of other stuff and the weave in and out of different styles. It truly makes me think I'm sitting at a musical buffet and sampling different dishes of music.

I will say that I loved Watershed... since that album though I have liked their stuff but I haven't loved it. Live is a different story. If you go somewhere with really good sound then all of their stuff is awesome.

I had to include Face of Melinda because even though I had heard it many times... live it floored me. It didn't floor me on the studio version.... but that transition from soft to heavy was SO powerful live. My entire back was like a sheet of ice from the chills that ran up and down my spine. Good chills.

Thanks man. I always like hearing from you. Oh and you kept talking about Derek early in your posts to me. I've come to share your appreciation of him. :)

Haha hell yeah man. Well, Derek is literally the reason I'm on here, and still am. I work with him, and I can say that not a day goes by that we don't discuss all things Steemit. He has gotten me so excited about its constant growth, and its future potential, as well as all the interesting folks one meets on here (you included! :D) and hes always encouraging me to step out of my shell (I have anxiety disorders and depression and all types of shit, so usually I'm an anxious wreck haha) and go with something on here if I'm feeling inspired. Definitely good to have a friend like that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64504.36
ETH 3414.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51