At last, Juliette Armanet releases a full album: Petite Amie in 2018

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Listen on Spotify

I've been listening to Juliette's songs for a while and hadn't noticed any release. I check on my favourite artists every few months. I have too many. I'm always happy to see new material on their Spotify profiles.

When I first heard a song by Juliette, it was probably À la Folie or Amour en Solitaire. I considered her at once a helpless romantic, a perfect example of the stereotypical description of the French language. "The language of love". Her songs are adorable and are all extra melodious and sweet, almost to the extreme, but not quite. Like eating a big, big piece of strawberry cake with a lot of sweet caramel cream!

The first 8 tracks of her new album, Petite Amie (meaning "girlfriend"), I had already listened to, or most of them anyway. The rest are previously unpublished tracks! ❤️ And that's what I love. Some albums come out and are just compilations of the artists' previous EPs and singles, but this one has all her previous singles and also a whole lot of new sweetness to it.

It was released in February, but I hadn't checked her profile this year. Same as Pauline Croze. It was a delicious surprise.

Title song, Petite Amie, on Youtube:

There is a saxophone in this song! So jazzy. Like a trip to the past. Not much modern electronica here, and in fact, her songs all remind me of oldish pop (done well). Some of her songs are what one would expect to accompany a cult atmospheric 80s film, only they were released in 2018. It's strange, but that's her taste, and she does it well and I enjoy listening to her songs.

My favourite song from the new ones could be Loulou, perhaps. I love the quick electronic beats that urge me to dance.

Overall, it's a pretty nice album, representative of her style. I love the concept that follows her music, but I think that it can get a little bit repetitive, so I only listen to her in counted occasions in order not to burn her (that was also added to the very little number of songs that she had released before this album). But this time, I'll listen to it a few times in the following days. That's what I love about new albums: they refresh the saturation and prevent over-listening.

I found Juliette the same way as I found Pauline Croze, Jeanne Cherhal and a few other French pop artists that I started listening to when I was learning French. Clear vocals, pretty songs with rich vocabulary. It was pretty much what I needed to study, analyse them and also have a good relaxing time while listening to music.

She's one of the few that has weird sentence structures with a lot of poetic license. She also had a lot of vocabulary that I didn't know previously, and even in the new songs I'm hearing a few vocab jewels. Her voice is very sweet, and the melodious tone of her voice is very unique to her.

Want to listen to it too? Here's the Spotify link again:

https://open.spotify.com/album/02ckddjyygrnKt3HRU8pC5

Have you listened to the album? What did you think of it? Leave me a comment below!

Sort:  

Thanks I will go listen to it :)

Come back later to tell me what you thought of it. :)

On my list for today to listen. A nice lazy day. (It's nice and chill, I like it~)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60896.54
ETH 2918.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61