A very interesting song: Ustura (Kırmızı Kurnaz Tilki) by Yasemin Mori

in #music6 years ago

I found a song that intrigued me a lot. Maybe it's because of the background of my musical taste and the history of the music that I've listened to over time.

When I started listening to the song "Ustura (Kırmızı Kurnaz Tilki)" by Yasemin Mori, I expected it to be just another one of the random Turkish or Finnish pop songs that Spotify has been recommending to me lately (for who knows whatever reason). The Turkish singing kind of agreed with this idea, that is, until the guitar started.

Now, this is not just some random guitar riff. If we look up Yasemin Mori on LastFM, we find that she's classified with the following tags:

female vocalists, alternative rock, turkish, indie

(Tiny note here. Bands don't have a "male vocalists" tag, eh? Are female vocalists a minority or just a commodity?)

So, this is considered to be indie alternative rock. The keyword here is rock, which is simply not quite the place where I would expect this guitar riff. This a very common kind of distortion and note-play usually found in black metal. Now, I don't have my list of black metal bands with me. I lost it when my last computer broke down. I really wish I could remember where I heard a riff that sounded very, very much like that one.

The feel that it evokes just doesn't belong to where I was before. I was expecting pop, maybe normal rock, and got instead a heartrending black metal riff that made me start to look for that specific band that this riff reminds me of (unsuccessfully). I may find it later.

But then, it continues, and as it goes on, a few gothic-like melodies and other signs of distortion (the small dots of guitar-less distortion floating around like a radio slightly out of signal) keep reminding me of the depths of the metal scenes. The solos, the drums, every tiny bit of this song feels like it is black metal, mixed with a bit of Jazz and swing. And the voice is so clear and emotional that it doesn't fit with my expectations.

And all of this lasts 4:29 minutes. I almost couldn't deal with this many emotions and thoughts coming together and had to pause, think and restart the song a few times just to understand what was going on. Maybe to someone else, there is no mystery or intrigue in this track, and there are very simple explanations for it all, including an apparent "commonness" to a riff that I qualified as belonging to another genre, but to me, this song was quite a precious find, regardless of its true meaning or a possible alternative background that I ignore. So I share this song that I loved with you, and the reason why, and my thoughts, and maybe I will read this later and disagree with myself, but who cares. :) ♥

Sort:  

It's amazing how many feelings a song can provoke in people!

Posted using Partiko Android

I hadn't realized how much thought I put into music regularly when it makes me feel 😅

Posted using Partiko Android

I once wrote a post about how much I loved Linkin Park despite a lot of people turning against them because it was the cool thing to do and since then I've thinking of doing similar posts going in depth with other songs

Posted using Partiko Android

You should! I'd read them with interest 😊😁

Posted using Partiko Android

First I need to think up of some structure or format to follow :^)

Posted using Partiko Android

Intro->song link->why you chose it->what you think about it->close the post

That's my structure in this one. I think it's the easiest most complete post structure for sharing something.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'll keep that structure in mind!

Posted using Partiko Android

It's amazing how many feelings a song can provoke in people!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @cryptosharon!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.469 which ranks you at #1978 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 10 places in the last three days (old rank 1988).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 329 contributions, your post is ranked at #173.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63342.09
ETH 2658.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81