Message Behind Music Video "This is America" ~Childish Gambino

in #music6 years ago (edited)

this-is-america-01-320x180.jpg

Hey Steemians! I have recently watched a music video by celebrity rapper Donald Glover otherwise known as "Childish Gambino." At first, I did not understand nor could I interpret the message behind the music video, but when I looked deeper into it, I think I got the meaning.
In the beginning, He kills a man. Then, towards the middle he kills a black church choir. Not only was there big events like these, but there was also hidden messages.

What's the Message?

Though this music video can be interpreted in different ways, I believe that the video was trying to portray the gun violence/ suicide in America.
I believe this because on Feburary 21st there was a mass church shooting with many people murdered in Las vegas. Then, in the music video this is portrayed.
Another reason is one of the lyrics saying "this is America, guns in my area."
Lastly, at 2:15 a man commits suicide, but no one decides to help or do anything about it.

Overall, when you know the deep and truthful meaning behind the video, you realize how bad gun control and suicide is taken her in America..."This is America."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98