You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Unexpected Ukulele Covers - I Will Survive by Gloria Gaynor (Dtube Exclusive)

in #music7 years ago

Aw... You brought back some sweet memories for me! About 20 years ago and then again about 5 years ago, I sang in a rock band performing both covers and originals. Of the covers, I Will Survive was always a favorite and would usually get even the deadest crowds dancing. Blondie and Pat Benatar were usually pretty popular retro tunes at that time too. You played it well!

Sort:  

Umm the fact that you have performed in multiple rock bands is amazing!! Doesn’t surprise me though since you are such a talented musician!

I can totally see how this song would get everyone moving. It’s hard NOT to dance and start singing once it comes on!

Actually, it was almost the same band! Just a different name.😂 I left the music scene to raise a family. The rest of the guys went their separate ways and after a few years, formed a band with another singer. She sang a couple shows, then started flaking and they had a big gig they didn't want to cancel, so they asked me to sit in for this one show. I had a week to learn two sets and I hadn't been on stage in over a decade! I had become a typical soccer mom! So, a friend gave me a makeover and lent me rocking outfit. I stayed with the band for over a year until I discovered I was pregnant. Anyway, I have been very blessed to be surrounded with great friends who happened to be insanely talented musicians.

Omg that is an amazing story!!! I love the part about getting a “rock star” makeover from your friend!

Well... I have to say, your kids are pretty freaking adorable! They really do make great back up dancers for your videos. 😆

Oops! I'm helping my kids with their homework- and commented using the wrong account! Haha!

Thanks! I'm pretty fond of them too, but I might be a tad biased! 🤣

Anyway, I just set up my oldest, @Tonks with her own account individual account. She's getting pretty confident in her ukelele skills. I'm trying to get her to focus on getting one song down really cleanly so she can share it, but she loves to hop around from song to song. She has a wide range of musical tastes like her mama! Haha!

Aww I love it! What a great idea to get the kids set up with their own accounts so they can share some of their artwork, music and other creative aspirations! :-) Following both accounts and I look forward to seeing @tonks ukulele cover at some point! 😊

So sorry my mother forgot to change accounts before commenting!LOL

BTW I loved your cover of Royals. Actually I'm learning to play Royals on the Uke myself. I get all my notes on https://ukutabs.com
Who's your favorite artist?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60025.27
ETH 2417.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42