Dark Matter - Porcupine Tree - The first song I thought of when I learned of Stephen Hawking's death

in #music6 years ago

Being a science geek and a bit of a space cadet, as a long-time follower of NASA, astronomy and the space program, I fell in love with this song the first time I heard it, and have loved it ever since.

My favorite lines in the song, which immediately brought it to mind in reference to Professor Hawking, are:

Dark matter flowing out on to a tape
Is only as loud as the silence it breaks

When I first started to post a song in Dr. Stephen Hawking's honor, this is the song I intended to post, until I relistened to the song and thought to myself, "Self, you might want to rethink this."

The lines that gave me pause are these:

Gun down a school or blow up a car
the media circus will make you a star

Not quite the send-off I wanted to give to Dr. Hawking, particularly in light of recent events, and the tense and angry debates occurring on all sides of the issue.

The last thing I wanted to do was to drag Dr. Hawking's memory into the fray.

Hence my decision to use as my tribute Porcupine Tree's earlier song, "The Sky Moves Sideways, Phase 1," in this post.

"Dark Matter" is from Porcupine Tree's fourth studio album, "Signify," which was released in September 1996, the year following "The Sky Moves Sideways." It is an excellent album all around, and "Dark Matter," my favorite on the album, is the twelfth of twelve tracks, thus completing the album.

Full Lyrics:

Inside the vehicle the cold is extreme
Smoke in my throat kicks me out of my dream
I try to relax but its warmer outside
I fail to connect, it's a tragic divide

This has become a full time career
To die young would take only 21 years
Gun down a school or blow up a car
The media circus will make you a star

Dark matter flowing out on to a tape
Is only as loud as the silence it breaks
Most things decay in a matter of days
The product is sold the memory fades

Crushed like a rose
In the river flow
I am I know

Like Riverside and Lunatic Soul, Steven Wilson's albums don't have any bad tracks, and although I do have special favorites, all the songs are really good.

Porcupine Tree was the first of his projects to really hook me and draw me in, but all his projects are excellent and well worth a listen, including No-Man, Bass Communion, I.E.M. (Incredible Expanding Mindfuck), Blackfield, Storm Corrosion, his own incredible solo releases, and an untold and ever-growing number of collaborations with other artists that, like everything he does, just keep getting better and better.

And yes, I am a total fangirl. ;-)

You can find his Burning Shed store here: https://www.burningshed.com/store/stevenwilson/
His own official store here: http://headphonedust.com/?v=7516fd43adaa
And, his official website, with info on his upcoming appearances, here: http://stevenwilsonhq.com/sw/

All words, with the exception of Steven Wilson's lyrics, are my own.

The image and video are the intellectual property of Steven Wilson and Porcupine Tree, and all rights remain with them, their producers and record companies. I claim no rights, but offer this video, as I offer all the music videos I post, in the hopes of promoting Steven Wilson and Porcupine Tree, so that more people become familiar with their music, and with hopes that they grow their fan base in the process, as they so richly deserve.

Resteeming is welcome, you may link to my post from your own website or blog, and you may use excerpts and/or images as long as you credit me, Cori MacNaughton, and link back to this post.

Please ask for permission, before using my work without linking to this post, as all rights are reserved.

Sort:  

Congratulations @crescendoofpeace! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

"Gun down a school or blow up a car
The media circus will make you a star" Yes, that's intense, especially when sang so softly! Great song, great band, thanks for the discovery. :)

You're welcome!
I love them, and their work is so varied that you're bound to find other things you love. Great stuff.

Great post.i like this post.thanks for your post

Thank you. I'm glad you like it, and I hope you like the song as well. ;-)

Porcupine Tree are my favourite band bar none. There doesn't seem to be many fans on Steemit, but then again barely anybody has heard of them or Steven Wilson, quite shocking.

I agree, Having seen him on stage repeatedly, not to mention the outstanding "Arriving Somewhere" concert DVD and others, this guy should be all over the charts, but he won't bow down and kiss corporate *ss, so they ignore him steadfastly.

Meanwhile, what is on the radio, mostly sucks.

In any case, it's lovely to meet a fellow fan, and clearly you have first rate taste in music! I'll definitely check out your blog. ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68092.03
ETH 3536.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75