You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: New Series Begin: Music?

in #music7 years ago

I have been taking a few stabs at composing songs on muse, music software. I posted my Jazzy Silent Night here on steemit and dsound. After twenty years of choir, I am good with rhythm, pitch, and harmonizing. My biggest shortfall I haven't learned yet is chords. I can't for the life of me figure out how to choose chords for making a song. Baselines are a total mystery to me, as I rely so heavy on percussion beats to carry the song. I would like to follow you if you can shine more light on the song writing process using computer software, like Muse.

Sort:  

These days, the rules are so flexible you could spit on a sheet of blank music from the top of a building, use the spit as notation and still come up with something somebody would enjoy, so the pressure to improve, get the chords 'right' etc is overstated these days, but to be able to understand and manipulate music is definitely useful... if I do lessons here I'd like to follow that philosophy; learn the rules, then destroy them

That's great to hear. I do a lot of work studying dance technique, and it is the same way. Learn concepts that seem different but are actually the same root thing, and then mess around with it to make it entertaining for variety.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60510.42
ETH 2615.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60