Product Review - Makita Compact Portable Radio/MP3 PlayersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #music7 years ago

20170729_202856.jpg

I wanted to carry my music with me everywhere I go. This little boombox does just that.

It is a portable worksite radio, designed primarily for construction jobsites. It has thick rubber bumpers on all the corners and edges that absorb shock if it is dropped or bumped. Two metal guard pieces protect the front controls and LCD screen if it falls. It came with a DC adapter to plug into an outlet, but it is best used with Makita batteries so that it can be taken to any location, even if no power outlet is nearby.

I chose Makita because I already use their cordless drills and impact drivers, so I have an assortment of 10.2 volt and 18 volt lithium-ion rechargeable batteries. This radio accepts three styles of batteries in the back compartment. It seems to run forever on a 3 amp-hour 18 volt battery, so I typically load one in the back for my camping trips, and I have music all evening.

20170811_185710.jpg

This radio goes everywhere with me, from working outside to weekend boating trips on the lake, and everywhere in between. We have even placed it in the bottom of our baby stroller when we go for walks with the kids!

The only complaint I have is when I plug in my MP3 player, (my phone), I only get sound from one speaker, no matter how delicately I adjust the audio input cable. When I play the FM radio, however, I get full sound from both speakers. I'm not sure why this is, but I can live with it. Either way, I get rich sound quality from it. When I bought the radio, I was under the impression it was bluetooth enabled, but my phone doesn't recognize it when I scan for bluetooth devices. No big deal, though. I paid $94 USD for it, so it didn't cost a fortune, and I have gotten many hours of good use from it so far.

20170813_191209.jpg

ID Photo (1).JPG

Sort:  

Awesome review! I know about these, as a Slovenian product, they are popular in my country, sounds nice, better than many old car stereos :) I know a guy using this Makita radio in his car, rather than buying new car radio and better speakers :) Cheers man, Thanks for sharing #keepsteemin

It looks like a sturdy companion!

You bet. It has already taken some abuse in the few months I have owned it.

Have you checked the Makita manual?

If I found the right manual (click link above), search for "pair" and it describes how to do it...

You may have to get both the radio and the phone into "pair" mode at the same time to make it happen?

😄😇😄

@creatr

It came with a manual, but in my typical fashion I disregarded it and tossed it aside. I despise reading manuals. But I will look into it, and I appreciate the feedback.

Let me know if you get "blue toothed" in... That ought to let you hear your MP3s through both speakers... ;)

Ok, I will give it a try. Last evening was busy, but I will mess with it. Thank you.

I'm always looking for a descent am/fm radio. How is the reception on distant channels?

Well, honestly, I got a few bucks off my radio from Amazon because it was an open-box item. So when I unpackaged it, I realized the screw-in antenna was missing, so my reception is sketchy. I guess I should have spent the extra money and bought brand new. But it picks up my classical music station very well so I don't let it bother me.

I hate it when you by an expensive item and the old cheap one works better.

Like coffee pots. Never buy $80 coffee pots. They always quit working within a year. But my $10 Wal-Mart coffee pot brews just fine after 14 years.

The saying "you get what you pay for" is not always true.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00