HOW TO: Get your music/podcast on Itunes, Spotify, Google Play and many more! DISTROKIDsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #music7 years ago

The founders of Tunecore & CD Baby recommend it - DISTROKID!

Source is an article that I used while deciding. It's a great read

There are a few music distribution companies that put music on iTunes, Amazon, Tidal, Spotify, Deezer, and many others. I have found one that's clearly the best, Distrokid, and I'll tell you why. (If you only want your podcast on iTunes, you should google it, there's a way to get it for free!)

Yearly fee of $20 to upload as many songs as you want.

Some distributers charge a fee and for every upload you make. A friend of mine went with Tunecore, uploaded the wrong art, and had to pay another $10 to reupload the single to get it right!
I've uploaded 13 singles, plus re-released a song. With Tunecore, this would be $140, and then more the next year!!

Don't take any commission

CD Baby takes 9%
Loudr takes 15%
Distrokid takes 0%
I want to earn all the money I worked for! I get to see it all in the Bank Tab, and can even view where the plays came from, and the amount that each play made - I usually make around $.004 a play on Spotify

Want to do covers? You can sell them, and get paid for the purchase and plays for $12 a year.

I have no clue what the other sites offer, but Distrokid will manage all of the copyright issues. This is alright with me, I don't want to get sued for my Allstar - Smashmouth covers!
Note: this doesn't help you if you use samples - you would still have to clear them yourself.

The interface is super easy to use

It takes me on average 3 mins to upload a song to +150 stores, and about 2-3 days for them to process it and have it available in the stores (if I don't set a release date). My mom could figure it out

Easy to share the profits

By setting up "Teams" you can automatically have the profits of a song go to whomever at whatever % you want. This is awesome for those who want to collaborate, or just want their bandmates to be set up.

Customer Service is killer

I had a problem with creating an account, and was notified the same day with my issue resolved - which was my fault lol.
*note: always upload the EXACT same thing that you have your song/ artist title.

Image is from the site digitalmusicnews.com

Link to 7% off.

If you get your music uploaded to Spotify, I'll follow you, just drop a link in the comments!

Follow @corganmusic for more!

Sort:  

I am using Distrokid for a while now and can't say anything bad about the service. More than satisfied.

Link me to some tunes!

Holy shit, that's a trip. I like the production, you seem to know a bit about synthesis!

Corgan on Spotify. Numb's Okay is one of my best :)

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

I was hoping you would've given more clarity about using it to host podcasts. It was still a good breakdown tho.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56828.09
ETH 2368.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26