My Name Is Human - Highly Suspect Has Blown Me Away!

in #music8 years ago

It's not very often that I write about music. In fact, I haven't written a music review in years.

I'm sure you're wondering why. Well, as I got older, it seemed like there was less and less music being released that really "hit me in the chest."

You see, I was born in 1975, and so I like a lot of 80's stuff. And why wouldn't I? I was five years old in 1980 and fifteen years old in 1990. So, the 80's ran from the ages of five through fifteen for me. Think about that for a minute. Those are very impressionable years in a person's life.

The way it worked for me was for the first ten years of my life I learned to like a lot of classic rock like Boston, The Eagles, Cat Stevens, Jim Croce, Queen, etc. The reason for this is simple. This is the stuff my parents were listening to at that time, so I was basically "forced" to listen to it as well because that's what was spinning on the turntable on weekends.

I can remember listening to Queen's "Another One Bites The Dust" many times at the weekend parties my parents had. I can also vaguely remember a very dank, distinctive smelling "cigarette" that people seemed to want to share with each other!

Well, moving along, as I got a little older, I began to get into 80's music because that's what all the "cool" kids were listening to. The very first song I played in my shiny new Sony Walkman was Tommy Tutone's "Jenny (867-5309)," followed by The Human League's "Don't You Want Me."

I was hooked! I loved 80's music. Even today, listening to some of those songs brings back memories of first dates, first kisses, first home runs (in Little League baseball, that is), lazy days at the beach, Friday nights at the mall, and all of the wondrous things you experience for the first time as a teenager.

Then the 90's hit. I began to really start noticing girls, I started to shave, got my license, drank my very first beer (and got drunk), and lost my virginity.

The 90's also brought something with it that which I'll always be eternally grateful -- alternative rock. Groups like Nirvana, Stone Temple Pilots, Soundgarden, Candlebox, Seven Mary Three, Three Doors Down, and Pearl Jam were my favorites. There was just something about that sound that really appealed to me. It was more than that, though. It was the lyrics. They had so much meaning, and it seemed like they were written especially for me. They fit my life like a glove fits a hand. They were so real for me.

That brings me to my post today. It's been a long time since I was really impressed with an alternative rock band. However, I heard a song on the radio this morning that immediately brought out some feelings. I was actually in my car when I heard a song called "My Name Is Human," and after the song ended, the DJ revealed the name of the band. I went right home to write it down, and luckily enough, I was able to remember it!

The name of the band is Highly Suspect, and their music is bluesy, gritty, uncensored, and just plain ROCKS. I don't know if you would classify it as alternative rock. It's hard to classify, actually. It's got a bluesy sound, but there are hints of heavy metal and reggae. In their song "My Name Is Human," there is also a hint of rap!

"My Name Is Human" is the first track from their second full-length album, "The Boy Who Died Wolf."

My Name Is Human

Video Source

My Name Is Human Lyrics

Okay
I'm feeling the way that I'm feeling myself
Fuck everyone else
Gotta remember that nobody is better than anyone else, here
(Do you need some time to think it over?)
Look what they do to you
Look what they do to me
Must be joking if you think that either one is free, here

Get up off your knees, girl
Stand face to face with your God
And find out what you want
(Hello, my name is human)
Hello, my name is human
And I came down from the stars
(Hello, my name is human)

I'm ready for love and I'm ready for war
But I'm ready for more
I know that nobody's ever been this fucking ready before, hey
(Do you need some time to think it over?)
So figure it out or don't figure it out
I figured it out
The bigger the river (the bigger the river)
The bigger the drought (the bigger the drought)

Get up off your knees, boy
Stand face to face with your God
And find out what you want
(Hello, my name is human)
Hello, my name is human
And I came down from the stars
(Hello, my name is human)

Fire world, I love you
Fire world

I'm up off my knees, girl
I'm face to face with myself
And I know who I am
(Hello, my name is human)
I stole my power from the sun
I'm more than just a man
(No longer disillusioned)

(I'm not asking questions)
('Cause questions have answers)
(And I don't want answers)
I came down from the stars (so I'll take my chances)
(And what are the chances)
(That I could advance)
(On my own circumstances)
(Said "what are the chances?")
Hello, my name is human (and what are the chances?)
(I don't want your answers)
(I'm not asking questions)
(So you keep your answers)
And I know who I am (so you keep your answers)
(I'm not asking questions)
(I'm taking my chances)

Source: AZ Lyrics

Albums

1. Mr. Asylum


Track Listing:

Mister Asylum
Lost
Lydia
Bath Salts
23 (feat. Sasha Dobson)
Mom
Bloodfeather
F**k Me Up
Vanity
Claudeland

2. The Boy Who Died Wolf


Will be released November 18,2016



Like I said, I haven't written a music review in a LONG time. Sure, there are a lot of great bands out there, but in order for me to really want to write about one, their music has to hit me right in the heart.

Highly Suspect has done just that. They have completely restored my faith in young alternative rock bands. They have a really special, unique sound, and I'm betting that they are going to see huge success. If you are like me and you are looking for that special music that really moves your soul, you'll want to give these guys a listen.

Image Sources

Image 1
Image 2
Image 3



If you'd like to follow me, I'd love to have you: @contentking

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44