#musicdiscovery 2SBD giveaway - 00s music suggestions

in #music6 years ago

Hello Steemians and fellow music lovers!

Time to announce the winner from last weeks 2SBD giveaway - thanks so much for all the entries it has given me lots of new music to listen to, and I won't be short of 90s music to listen to for a long time… my list of music to listen to is getting longer and longer!

And the winner this time is - @dee-y

  • Thank you for your awesome selections of Nigerian reggae music - I loved it! Something I have never heard before. Very unique but I can hear this sound in some of the New Zealand dub and reggae music that I listen to.
  • I also really LOVED Bad Religion - how have I not listened to them before? They sound very similar to bands like Pennywise and NOFX, so I went on a bit of a punk rock binge

I really appreciate everyone taking time to give such awesome suggestions so I am also going to give 0.1SBD for all those who participated - check your wallets!

So I have had plenty of amazing suggestions of 80s and 90s music so I thought I would go for the trifecta and ask for you suggestions from the 2000s. This post will be another giveaway with 2SBD going to the winner. All you have to do is comment and offer me some suggestions of music from the 2000s

Upvoting/resteeming is not necessary but would still be appreciated.

For me the 2000s were pretty much a time of nu metal (especially the early 2000s).Il start you off by offering some of my favorite bands and songs from this era:

Limp Bizkit - Chocolate Starfish and the Hotdog Flavored water


Ahh Limp Bizkit - good times! I look back at them now and wonder if they actually took themselves seriously - alot of the songs had awful lyrics. I listened to the album ‘Chocolate Starfish and the Hotdog Flavored Water’ so many times! The elements of rap, rock and metal in one of the lead single ‘My Generation’ are brilliant:

Id love to hear what others thought about Limp Bizkit - did you take them serious or were they more of a joke?

Trivium - Ascendency


For me this album, released in 2005 is one of the better metal/thrash metal albums released in the last few years - such heavy amazing riffs and each song on the album is brilliant! There are elements of band like Metallica, Slayer and Pantera - but still offering a unique and new sound. Here is the song ‘A gunshot to the Trepidation:

Unfortunately (for me anyway) they have released a few albums after this and none of them even came close to matching Ascendency! I remember trying to learn some of their songs on guitar but they were pretty difficult - very fast. Here's another awesome tune ‘Like Light to the Flies:

Machine Head -The Blackening


Probably the best metal album released in the last 15 years (big call I know!) - but for me it is such a great and complete album. The first single Aesthetic of Hate was written as a tribute to fellow metaller Dimebag Darrell who was murdered on stage:

This is one of those albums where every single song is brilliant so it is hard to pick just a couple to share. The song Halo has such awesome lead guitar with the pinch harmonics - enjoy:

Eminem - The Marshall Mather LP


This is one of the few rap albums that I absolutely loved - Eminem is such a brilliant and clever rapper. This album has some pretty heavy lyrics - and some pretty funny songs as well. The main single is brilliant ‘The real Slim Shady’

I loved some of the autobiographical songs about his life and his struggles with fame. Some of the skits are also priceless.

I look forward to all of your suggestions! Any type of music is welcome and encouraged - although metal has been my favorite over the years the older I get the more I am open to suggestions!

DQmQzFM2sDp5wYpaoktgk9L8RzJCCwPgheNTHo23JUwfAGZ.jpeg

Sort:  

if you like a bit of punk, if you haven't already Zebrahead - broadcast to the world (2006) was a great album 😬👍

I like a bit of punk rock for sure - im giving it a spin now!

Some excellent choices there, let's see...
The Avalanches - Since I Left You (2000)
Daft Punk - Discovery (2001)
Finch - What It Is To Burn (2002)
Easy Star All-Stars - Dub Side of the Moon (2003)
The Strokes - First Impressions of Earth (2006)

Congrats @johngreenfield you are the winner! 2SBD is on its way to you now! :)

Oh wow! That's awesome, thank you so much bud

Loading...


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.
For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

My favorite 2000s songs:
Shakira: 'Whenever, Wherever' (2002)
Justin Timberlake: 'Cry Me a River' (2003)
Eiffel 65: 'Blue (Da Ba Dee)' (2000)
Eminem: 'Lose Yourself' (2002)
Eminem: 'Stan' (2000)
Avril Lavigne: 'Complicated' (2002)
Lady Gaga: 'Bad Romance' (2009)

OK, I'm probably going for the obvious, but I'll go for it anyway...

Linkin Park. It's hard to pin them to one genre, since each album is either different or a progression from what they've done before. Here's a couple you probably heard of...

Numb - Linkin Park

Papercut - Linkin Park

Might have something else later...

Amazing! I love Hybrid Theory such a briliant album! Every track is epic!

SOme of there later stuff is also really good and under rated

Yeah, here we go. Audioslave - Formed by the former lead singer of Soundgarden and members of Rage Against the Machine.

Tragically lost the lead singers of both Audioslave and Linkin Park last year. RIP

Audioslave are amazing aswell! I was a fan of the album 'Revelations' the most :)

OK, one more. Something totally different this time. Bruce Springsteen is mostly associated with the 1970's and 80's, but in 2006, he put out the Seeger Sessions, covering the music of Pete Seeger. One of my fave albums of the decade. Having been born and raised in NJ, I had to slip Bruce in somewhere! 😎

Heres one I havent heard! I never really got into the boss... I will give this one a spin for sure :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63615.94
ETH 2475.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54