What Field Recorder? ... You've got bigger things to worry about.

in #music7 years ago

I've been spending time on audio related forums recently and the same question seems to pop up quite a lot....


"What field recording tool should I buy?"

Unfortunately, there is a tendency to obsess over equipment when starting out in recording, though I imagine this is true for other creative pursuits too. While your first camera or first, I dunno, fishing rod, might be an important factor in dictating the direction of your learning journey, your first sound recorder doesn't have to be something to pull your hair out over. Why? Because the Zoom, Sony, and Tascam currently make amazing sound recording devices that cost very little, and the technology is only getting better and better. Not only that, but of the many factors that contribute to a bad recording, these days, kit is rarely one of them.

microphone-2618102_960_720.jpg

We have incredible tools for field recording compared to five years ago, let alone longer than that. A $200 Zoom-Whatever vs a $2000 Sound-Devices-Whatever will do a better job if you record good material, at the right input level, in the right environment. My point is, the weak link will most likely be your skills or recording environment, especially when starting out.
I've been watching some behind the scenes documentaries recently about sound design. Among other equipment, a (sub 100 dollars) Zoom H1 was used to record sounds for BLADERUNNER 2049. I saw Zoom H4Ns (mk1) being used for field recording for Jurassic World.

Anyway, personally, if I was put on the spot to recommend something for someone starting out in field recording, I think the Zoom H4N-Pro is worth a look because it's affordable but has features you can grow into. Regardless, no modern field recording product from Zoom, Sony or Tascam is going to limit your ability to get out there and record some compelling audio.

Sort:  

technically device are more upgrading day by day with minimize the cost for better outcome, thanks.

Great post @condra thank you for sharing

Thanks for sharing, enjoy the vote!

Congratulations @condra! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I use the H4Ns quite a lot but I use it with a AKG C414.
It's all about the mic you use and the post production of the sound anyway.

didn't knew about this thanks for sharing

Great topic @condra. I wish I had found this earlier so I could have upvoted.

I have used a handful of field recorders over the years, but none really great. I currently use an old Edirol R-09 when I am recording outside. Not the greatest. You can see many examples of it on my blog.

I would like to get something new. How is the mic preamp in the H4N-Pro?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62795.57
ETH 2581.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74